Acceptera cookies

NaxosDirect använder cookies. Genom att fortsätta på sidan godkänner du användandet av cookies.
Jag accepterar

Turrini, Ferdinando Gasparo - 12 Sonatas for Harpsichord - Barchi, Michele

Köp + 119 kr

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Early-Classical keyboard sonatas by a north-Italian contemporary of Beethoven, much esteemed in his day and now almost unknown. Brilliant Classics has long specialised in illuminating the music of composers who are largely lost to posterity – especially from Italy, and especially from the 17th and 18th centuries. Here is another name to conjure with and to quicken the blood of collectors eager to add another name to their shelves: Ferdinando Turrini, born in the town of Salò in 1845. His death date is much more uncertain – between 1812 and 1829 – but he passed away in Brescia, where he had become a much esteemed teacher, organist, master of music and composer. Blindness afflicted Turrini in his late 20s, but it appears not to have stemmed the flow of an output that ranged from operas to sacred and instrumental music. Nearly all of it is now lost to us, and what survives does so almost exclusively in manuscript. In fact the six keyboard sonatas dedicated to the Genovese patrician Carlo Spinola were printed during Turrini’s lifetime, whereas the other six sonatas on Michele Barchi’s new recording, dedicated to the Venetian nobleman Vincenzo Fini, have come down to us in handwritten copies. The two-movement ‘Spinola’ sonatas are lively and imaginative enough, but it is in the Fini sonatas that a kinship with Turrini’s contemporary Beethoven becomes evident. These works far transcend their galant context, and could equally well be performed on the fortepiano, composed as they were on the cusp of keyboard-instrument history. The style that one contemporary described as ‘dolce patetico’ (‘sweet and full of feeling’) is particularly evident in the intensity of the slow movements: for instance, in the ‘Adagio ad imitazione del Violoncello’ of the Sonata No.5. Michele Barchi is an experienced early-music keyboard musician who has worked with the likes of the late Claudio Abbado and with Riccardo Muti. Among his recordings is a contribution to the compendious ‘Bach 2000’ edition issued by Warner Classics. This album marks his debut on Brilliant Classics. “A blind man came to shed light on our darkness”, thus said his contemporaries of Ferdinando Turrini (1745-1829). Blind and crippled on one hand he nevertheless played the keyboard beautifully: “One can only admire his boundless creativity, feeling, spirit and graceful articulation”. Turrini held the important post of organist of the St. Giustina church in Padua, and he died in Brescia, lamented by his numerous students. Turrini’s 12 Sonatas are written in two movements, one fast and lively, the other calm and meditative. Though rooted in the Galante Style they sometimes go beyond its restrictions, in terms of individual expression of emotions and technical complexities, prompting the great Gabriele d’Annunzio to draw comparisons with Beethoven. Harpsichordist Michele Barchi was harpsichord player of Il Giardino Armonico, a member of the Lucerne Festival orchestra conducted by Claudio Abbado and a sought-after soloist: he recorded Bach solo keyboard works for Teldec.
Artikelnummer 95522
Streckkod 5028421955223
Utgivningsdatum 2019-10-04
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Brilliant Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 2
Artister Barchi, Michele
Kompositörer Turrini, Ferdinando Gasparo
Disk: 1
1 I. Vivace
2 II. Adagio
3 III. Schiava: Presto assai
4 I. Allegro assai con molto brio
5 II. Lento ed affettuoso, il Basso sempre legato -
6 I. Allegro ma non tanto con illarità
7 II. Adagio pensieroso
8 III. Presto assai risoluto
9 I. Presto
10 II. Andante
11 I. Allegro cantabile
12 II. Adagio ad imitazione del Violuncello
13 III. Tema con variazioni
14 I. Allegretto spiritoso
15 II. Grave
16 III. Rondò: Allegro non tanto
17 I. Allegro moderato
18 II. Andantino brillante
19 I. Allegretto con spirito
20 II. Variazione: Larghetto
21 I. Allegro
22 II. Presto
23 I. Presto
24 II. Allegretto affettuoso
25 I. Allegro ma non troppo
26 II. Allegro
27 I. Allegro assai
28 II. Un poco andante
29 III. Prestissimo
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om 12 Sonatas for Harpsichord, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


129 kr
Mozart, W A - 3CD-BOX: Die Zauberflöte - Kuijken, Sigiswald
129 kr
Glinka, Michail - 3CD-BOX: Ivan Susanin - Marinov, Ivan
109 kr
Serov, Alexander - Judith - Chistiakov, Andrei
109 kr
Rimsky-Korsakov, Nikolay - The Tsar's Bride - Chistiakov, Andrei
Purcell, Henry - Dido and Aeneas - Galliard: Pan and Syrinx 94178 2011-02-03 109 kr
Mozart, W A - Così fan tutte - Genz, Christoph (tenor) 93925 2011-01-03 129 kr
Mozart, W A - Le Nozze di Figaro - Kuijken, Sigiswald 93966 2011-01-03 129 kr
Poulenc, Francis - Les Mamelles de Tiresias - Nieuw Ensemble 8951 2011-01-03 89 kr
Ej i lager
Schoenberg, Arnold - Moses und Aron - Austrian Radio Symphony Orchestra 9083 2011-01-03 109 kr
Ej i lager
Shostakovich, Dmitry - The Gamblers - Bolshoi Theatre Orchestra 9181 2011-01-03 89 kr

Andra har köpt

Andra kunder har även köpt:
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar