Cowie, Edward - 24 Preludes for Piano - Mead, Philip

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Edward Cowie is considered by many to be the greatest living composer directly inspired by the Natural World. His post-impressionist works, from the gigantic orchestral Leviathan (his first Proms commission) to his cycles of Bird Portraits and other chamber and instrumental pieces are drawing gasps of admiration from critics and audiences alike. Originally recorded for the University of Hertfordshire’s UHR label, this recording has been restored to the catalogue as part of the quickly-growing Cowie collection on Métier Records. The composer feels strongly that the individual works in the Bach ‘48’ and Debussy’s Préludes(for example) were a series of linked parts creating a greater whole. In his own ‘24’ Cowie has taken that principle but expressed it in his unique way – music that is impressionist, pictorial, descriptive and above all evocative… of place, time, flora and fauna” experiences of both natural and man-made phenomena. The Preludes follow the ‘Bach cycle of keys’ but at the same time are grouped into four books representing the ancient ‘Four Elements’. Philip Mead studied at the Royal Academy of Music and has had a widely successful career, performing and broadcasting internationally. He had his own series on BBC Radio 3 exploring hidden pathways in piano music. A champion of contemporary composers, he founded the British Contemporary Piano Competition in 1988. He has been awarded honorary doctorates at the London College of Music and the Royal Academy and is a visiting professor of the University of Hertfordshire.
Artikelnummer MSV28625
Streckkod 0809730862526
Utgivningsdatum 2022-05-13
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Metier
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Mead, Philip
Kompositörer Cowie, Edward
Disk: 1
24 Preludes for Piano
1 Book 1 (Water) - I. O Brook (C major)
2 Book 1 (Water) - Ii. Kiama Blowhole (C minor)
3 Book 1 (Water) - Iii. Cancleve (G major)
4 Book 1 (Water) - Iv. River Dronne (G minor)
5 Book 1 (Water) - V. St Maxime Beach (D major)
6 Book 1 (Water) - Vi. Tennessee River (D minor)
7 Book 2 (Air) - I. Boscastle (A major)
8 Book 2 (Air) - Ii. Hay Plains Twisters (A minor)
9 Book 2 (Air) - Iii. 35,000 feet (E major)
10 Book 2 (Air) - Iv. Tapada (E minor)
11 Book 2 (Air) - V. Lake Eacham (B major)
12 Book 2 (Air) - Vi. Dartington Gardens (B minor)
13 Book 3 (Earth) - I. Uluru (F sharp major)
14 Book 3 (Earth) - Ii. Crackington Haven (F sharp mi
15 Book 3 (Earth) - Iii. Rosedale (C sharp major)
16 Book 3 (Earth) - Iv. Glencoe (C sharp minor)
17 Book 3 (Earth) - V. Brecon Beacons (A flat major)
18 Book 3 (Earth) - Vi. Shenandoah Valley (A flat min
19 Book 4 (Fire) - I. Sunrise (E flat major)
20 Book 4 (Fire) - Ii. Bush Fires (E flat minor
21 Book 4 (Fire) - Iii. Home Fire (B flat major)
22 Book 4 (Fire) - Iv. Blast Furnaces at Port Kembla
23 Book 4 (Fire) - V. New Year Fireworks (F major)
24 Book 4 (Fire) - Vi. Sunset (F minor)
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om 24 Preludes for Piano, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Cowie, Edward - Streams & Particles - Kato, Saki
159 kr
Cowie, Edward - Where Song was Born - 24 Australian Bird Portraits - Minelli, Sara
159 kr
Cowie, Edward - Bird Portraits - Sheppard Skærved, Peter
129 kr
Cowie, Edward - Clarinet Concerto No. 2; Concerto for Orchestra - Hacker, Alan
Cowie, Edward - Three Quartets & A Solo - Kreutzer Quartet MSV28603 2020-04-17 159 kr
Miyachi, Fumiko - Transitional Metal - Miyachi, Fumiko MSV28563 2017-09-15 159 kr
Roe, Betty - The Silver Hound and other songs by Betty Roe - Leonard, Sarah (soprano) MSV28566 2017-08-18 159 kr
Ghost Dialogues: New Music for Trumpet - Gekker, Chris - Various MSV28572 2017-08-18 159 kr
Vale: New Music for Flute - Craig, Richard - Various MSV28540 2017-08-18 159 kr
Fidelio Trio (The) - Dancing in Daylight MSV28556 2016-03-11 159 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar