Cherry, Don - 3CD-BOX: The Codona Trilogy

Köp + Lägg till önskelista + 299 kr - Fåtal i lager

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
- Specially priced 3-CD box brings together the marvellous albums made by the trio of Don Cherry, Nana Vasconcelos and Collin Walcott: "Codona" (recorded 1978), "Codona 2" (recorded 1980), and "Codona 3" (recorded 1982)

- Delightful listening, these albums are also milestones in the history of improvisation between the genres. World music before there was a name for it

- The beauty of Codona is in the trio's open-mindedness, proposing equal rights for all the idioms, and for music of all the continents

- The group was a coming together of three highly-innovative musicians, each of whom was an innovative sound-explorer:

Don Cherry (1936-1995) was a legend, and one of the trumpeters who defined the sound of modern jazz. A beautifully inventive player who, in Ornette Coleman's group, prophesied "The Shape of Jazz to Come" already in 1959, and went on to play with many of the music's giants: Sonny Rollins, John Coltrane, Albert Ayler, Archie Shepp... His ECM recordings including important discs with the Old and New Dreams band and with drummer Ed Blackwell. Cherry's musical curiosity also led him beyond jazz, in every direction. There were collaborations with Penderecki and with Lou Reed, and there were nomadic journeys all over the globe in search of new sonorities. In Mali, Cherry learned to play the doussn'gouni, the African hunter's harp, whose fibrous buzzing is part of the Codona sound...

There will never be another player like Collin Walcott (1945-1984). A classical percussionist who made the transition to jazz - playing Indian instruments. Walcott studied with the greatest - taking sitar lessons with Ravi Shankar and tabla lessons with Alla Rakha. He brought what he'd learned into sessions with Miles Davis. He co-founded the band Oregon, and made highly influential recordings under his own name for ECM: "Cloud Dance", "Grazing Dreams".

Nana Vasconcelos (born 1944) and now the only surviving member of this great group, brought his Brazilian magic to it, with his berimbau and his shakers and his hand drums. Most listeners first heard him in the company of Egberto Gismonti on the revelatory "Dança das cabeças". For ECM he also recorded with Pat Metheny, Jan Garbarek, Arild Andersen and Pierre Favre, and released his own acclaimed album "Saudades".

Three CD-set in cap box. Booklet includes liner notes by Steve Lake, and photography by Roberto Masotti.

Artikelnummer ECM2033
Streckkod 0602517674202
Utgivningsdatum 2008-09-26
Kategori Jazz
Skivbolag ECM
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 3
Artister Cherry, Don
Disk: 1
1 Like That Of Sky 11:07
2 Codona 06:14
3 Colemanwonder: Race Face / Sortie / Sir Duke 03:40
4 Mumakata 08:14
5 New Light 13:22
Disk: 2
1 Que Faser 07:07
2 Godumaduma 01:54
3 Malinye 12:39
4 Drip-Dry 06:59
5 Walking On Eggs 03:00
6 Again and Again, Again 07:32
Disk: 3
1 Goshakabuchi 10:53
2 Hey Da Ba Doom 07:11
3 Travel By Night 05:47
4 Lullaby 03:32
5 Trayra Boia 05:17
6 Clicky Clacky 04:07
7 Inner Organs 09:17
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om 3CD-BOX: The Codona Trilogy, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Bobo Stenson Trio - Cantando
169 kr
Wystraëte, Bernard - Strawa no Sertão
159 kr
Cherry, Don - Dona Nostra
289 kr
Jarrett, Keith (piano) - In The Light (2 CD)
Jarrett, Keith (piano) - Concerts Bremen / Lausanne (2 CD) ECM1035 1973-11-01 289 kr
Ej i lager
Garbarek, Jan (saxophone) - Triptykon ECM1029 1973-04-30 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Jarrett, Keith (piano) - Ruta And Daitya ECM1021 1973-01-01 169 kr
Corea, Chick (piano) - Return To Forever ECM1022 1972-07-01 169 kr
Corea, Chick (piano) - A.R.C. ECM1009 1971-04-15 169 kr
Garbarek, Jan (saxophone) - Afric Pepperbird ECM1007 1971-01-01 169 kr

Andra har köpt

Andra kunder har även köpt:
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar