Walton, William - A Centenary Celebration - Facade, An Entertainment by Edith Sitwell, Music from Henry V - Text by William Shakespeare - Various

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
SOMM Recordings’ Sir William Walton – A Centenary Celebration marks the 100th anniversary of the first performance of Edith Sitwell’s era-defining “entertainment” Façade, coupled with its composer’s thrilling score for Laurence Olivier’s iconic 1944 film version of Shakespeare’s Henry V, on the 600th anniversary of the medieval warrior-king’s death. Baritone and SOMM artist Roderick Williams pairs with mezzo-soprano Tamsin Dalley for a joyful partnership in Façade, while star of television’s Auf Wiedersehen, Pet, Inspector Morse and Lewis, Kevin Whately is the bracing Narrator for Henry V. The Stratford-based Orchestra of The Swan is conducted by the Royal Shakespeare Company’s Head of Music, Bruce O’Neil. First performed in private for a select audience of London’s glitterati in January 1922, Walton adorned Sitwell’s “experiments in sound” Façade with music of originality and vitality to match the absurdist-leaning poetry. Within a generation, the exhilarating distractions of the Jazz Era had given way to the bleak horror of the Second World War. With Britain at its lowest ebb, Laurence Olivier’s morale-boosting 1944 film version of Henry V was enhanced by one of Walton’s finest, most colorful, dramatic and emotion-laden scores. It is thrillingly realized here in Edward Watson’s chamber version for 11 players. Arranging the work for this relatively small ensemble, Watson creates a remarkable sound brimming with cinematic impact that has been much admired for its blending of the concert platform and theatrical stage. SOMM’s previous Walton releases include his widely admired Symphony No.1 and Belshazzar’s Feast with Adrian Boult conducting the LPO (SOMMCD 094), and the pairing of Walton with his lifelong friend Constant Lambert, Façades (SOMMCD 0614), hailed by The Telegraph as “an album that brings the Roaring Twenties to life”, and MusicWeb International as “an absolute gem of a disc in every regard”.
Artikelnummer SOMMCD277
Streckkod 0748871227729
Utgivningsdatum 2022-02-04
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag SOMM Recordings
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Various
Orchestra of The Swan
Dirigenter O'Neil, Bruce
Kompositörer Walton, William
Disk: 1
Henry V (arr. Edward Watson) Part Iii
1 Fanfare
2 I. Hornpipe (sailors come to the drum)
3 Ii. En Famille (In the early springtime, after the
4 Iii. Mariner Man (What are you staring at, mariner
5 Iv. Long Steel Grass (The white soldiers pass)
6 V. Through Gilded Trellises (on the heat)
7 Vi. Tango-pasodoblé (When Don Pasquito arrived at
8 Vii. Lullaby for Jumbo (Jumbo asleep!)
9 Viii. Black Mrs. Behemoth (In a room of the palace
10 Ix. Tarantella (Where the satyrs are chattering)
11 X. The Man from a Far Countree (Rose and Alice)
12 Xi. By the Lake (Across the flat and the pastel sn
13 Xii. Country Dance (That hobnailed goblin, the bob
14 Xiii. Polka (Tra la la la la la la la la!)
15 Xiv. Four in the Morning (Cried the navy-blue ghos
16 Xv. Something lies beyond the scene
17 Xvi. Valse (Daisy and Lily)
18 Xvii. Yodelling Song (Be bear velvet cream)
19 Xviii. Scotch Rhapsody (Do not take a bath in Jord
20 Xix. Popular Song (Lily O'Grady, Silly and shady)
21 Xx. Fox-trot: 'Old Sir Faulk'
22 Xxi. Sir Beelzebub (When Sir Beelzebub)
23 Prologue. Fanfare - No.1 March. Chorus: "o for a M
24 No.2 - Slower. Chorus: "suppose within the girdle.
25 No.3 - Brightly
26 No.4 - Poco Meno - Vivo (March)
27 Interlude at the Boar's Head - No.5 - Allegretto g
28 Falstaff Rejection. No. 6 - Falstaff: "god save th
29 "touch her soft lips and art" - No.7 Slow, tenderl
30 Harfleur. No.1 - Moderato, Harfleur. Henry V. "onc
31 The Night Watch. No.3 - Lento tenebroso. Chorus: "
32 Agincourt. No.4 - Più mosso - poco a poco più moss
33 Interlude at the French Court No.1 Gaily. Duke of
34 No.2 Bailero - Lento tranquillo. Duke of Burgundy:
35 No.3 Andante Pastorale. Henry V: "you have witchcr
36 No.4 Maestoso festoso - Vivo (March)
37 Epilogue. No.5 Slower. Chorus: "thus far, with rou
38 No.6 Brightly
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om A Centenary Celebration - Facade, An Entertainment by Edith Sitwell, Music from Henry V - Text by William Shakespeare, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Songs - Various
169 kr
Various - Concert for Lidice - Various
279 kr
Various - Opera Scenes From Savonlinna - Various
169 kr
Walton, William - Chamber Music - Nash Ensemble (The)
Walton, William - Coronation Te Deum - Polyphony CDA67330 2002-05-30 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Walton, William - Facade - Nash Ensemble (The) CDA67239 2001-03-29 169 kr
Various - Your Favourite Classics - Various BIS750 1997-05-25 169 kr
Almqvist, C J L - Songs, lyrics, prose, piano & choral pieces - Various BIS013 1997-03-15 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar