Mendelssohn, Felix - A Midsummer Night's Dream - Bramall, Anthony

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Shakespeare's play A Midsummer Night's Dream was an early favourite of the Mendelssohn family and in 1826 Felix Mendelssohn had written an Overture, a musical summary of the play, inspired by the German translation of August Wilhelm Schlegel, brother-in-law of Mendelssohn's Aunt Dorothea, and by the beauty of a summer evening in the garden of the family house in Berlin. The incidental music to the later production of the play starts with this Overture. The Scherzo, a first entr'acte, depicts the gossamer elegance and the humour of what follows in the dispute between Oberon and his wife, the Fairy Queen, Titania. The Intermezzo is more human in its references to the lovers, taking refuge in the forest from parental disapproval, only to suffer the misunderstandings brought about by the well-­intentioned interference of the fairies in their mortal world. The entr' acte ends with music for the rude mechanicals, the Athenian workmen who rehearse their solemn tragedy of Pyramus and Thisbe in the forest, in preparation for performance at the wedding of Duke Theseus. The Notturno shows night in the forest, as the lovers sleep and Puck applies a magic potion to their eyes, so that when they wake all will be well and "every Jack shall have his Jill", and Titania, in the scene that follows, lavishes her bewitched affection on Bottom the Weaver, translated by Puck's spell into a donkey. The Wedding March celebrates the marriage of Duke Theseus to Hippolyta, Queen of the Amazons, a match that provides a formal mortal framework for the enchantment at the heart of the play.

Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra/Anthony Bramall & Oliver Dohnanyi.

Felix Mendelssohn

En Midsommarnattsdröm

1. Overture, Op 21

2. Scherzo, Op 61:1

3. Intermezzo, Op 61:2

4. Notturno, Op 61:3

5. Wedding March, Op 61:4

6. Meeresstille und glückliche Fahrt, Op 27

7. Ruy Blas, Op 95

8. Die Hebriden Op 26

Artikelnummer 8554433
Streckkod 0636943443323
Utgivningsdatum 1998-12-11
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Naxos / Essentials
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Dirigenter Bramall, Anthony
Kompositörer Mendelssohn, Felix
Disk: 1
The Hebrides, Op. 26, "Fingal's Cave"
1 A Midsummer Night's Dream
2 Overture, Op. 21
3 Scherzo, Op. 61, No. 1
4 Intermezzo, Op. 61, No. 2
5 Notturno, Op. 61, No. 3
6 Wedding March, Op. 61, No. 4
7 Meeresstille und gluckliche Fahrt (Calm Sea and Pr
8 Ruy Blas, Op. 95
9 The Hebrides, Op. 26, "Fingal's Cave"
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om A Midsummer Night's Dream, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


69 kr
Bach, J S - Genius of Bach, The
119 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Symphony No. 4 - Alsop, Marin (conductor)
119 kr
Grieg, Edvard - Peer Gynt Suites - Engeset, Bjarte
119 kr
Stravinsky, Igor - 125th Anniversary Album: Rite of Spring, The / Violin Concerto / Symphonies of Wind Instruments - Craft, Robert (conductor)
Orff, Carl - Carmina Burana - Alsop, Marin (conductor) 8570033 2007-03-21 119 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Symphony No. 3 - Alsop, Marin (conductor) 8557430 2007-01-22 119 kr
Mendelssohn, Felix - String Quintets - Mendelssohn String Quartet BIS1254 2002-05-21 169 kr
Mendelssohn, Felix - String Symphonies Nos. 1-13 BIS938 1998-08-25 409 kr
Mendelssohn, Felix - Best of Mendelssohn, The 8556660 1998-03-27 69 kr
Mendelssohn, Felix - Symphonies Nos. 3 & 4 8553200 1997-02-25 119 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar