Various - A Shropshire Lad - English Songs Orchestrated by Roderick Williams - Williams, Roderick

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
This album represents the culmination of what leading British baritone Roderick Williams described as ‘a dream come true’. It features premiere recordings of his orchestrations of songs by Vaughan Williams and other composers associated with him and is released to commemorate those who perished in WWI. Featuring orchestrations by Williams of his favorite songs from the 20thCentury English repertoire this album contains works by Vaughan Williams and composers associated with him. It includes specially commissioned new arrangements of songs by women composers Ina Boyle, Ruth Gipps, Madeleine Dring and Rebecca Clarke. The album features the work of composers who were killed in the First World War, George Butterworth, William Denis Browne and Ernest Farrar and is released to coincide with Remembrance Day. These songs portray the composers’ evocative responses to the poetry they set, and Williams’s orchestrations further convey the songs meaning through highly effective use of orchestral instruments and textures. Roderick Williams OBE is one of Britain’s most sought-after baritones and is constantly in demand on the concert platform and in recital, encompassing a repertoire from the baroque to world premieres. In 2016 he won the Royal Philharmonic Society’s Singer of the year award. He is also a composer and has had works premiered at the Wigmore and Barbican Halls, the Purcell Room and live on national radio. He was awarded an OBE for services to music in June 2017.
Artikelnummer CDHLL7559
Streckkod 5065001341854
Utgivningsdatum 2022-11-04
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Hallé
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Williams, Roderick
Dirigenter Elder, Mark
Kompositörer Various
Orkestrar Hallé
Disk: 1
1 Great Things
2 Sea Fever
3 The Joy of Earth
4 To Gratiana dancing and singing
Six Songs from 'A Shropshire Lad'
5 I. Loveliest of trees
6 Ii. When I was one-and-twenty
7 Iii. Look not in mine eyes
8 Iv. Think no more, lad
9 V. The lads in their hundreds
10 Vi. Is my team ploughing?
11 The pulley
Six Songs from 'A Shropshire Lad'
12 I. Love-sight
13 Ii. Silent noon
14 Iii. Love's minstrels
15 Iv. Heart's haven
16 V. Death in love
17 Vi. Love's last gift
18 Take, O take those lips away
19 When I set out for Lyonesse
20 The seal man
21 Silent noon
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om A Shropshire Lad - English Songs Orchestrated by Roderick Williams, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Debussy, Claude - Nocturnes - Elder, Mark
359 kr
Wagner, Richard - Siegfried (4 CD) - Elder, Mark
159 kr
Shostakovich, Dmitry - Symphony No. 5 & Four Romances - Elder, Mark
139 kr
Elgar, Edward - The Wand of Youth Suites - Elder, Mark
Wagner, Richard - Das Rheingold (3 CD) - Elder, Mark HLD7549 2018-06-08 219 kr
Vaughan Williams, Ralph - Symphonies Nos. 4 & 6 - Elder, Mark HLL7547 2017-10-06 159 kr
Delius, Frederick - The Hymn of Jesus; Sea Drift - Cynara - Elder, Mark CDHLL7535 2013-09-01 159 kr
Various - English Classics (4CD) - Elder, Mark CDHLD7532 2011-09-01 159 kr
Various - English Spring - Elder, Mark CDHLL7528 2011-04-01 159 kr
Various - English Orchestral and Choral Music - Elder, Mark CDHLL7512 2008-09-01 159 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar