Various - African Pianism - Omordia, Rebeca

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
SOMM Recordings is thrilled to announce African Pianism, a revelatory collection of music by seven African composers. Released to coincide with Black History Month in the United States, it marks the label’s solo debut of Nigerian-Romanian pianist Rebeca Omordia. First recordings include three haunting Nocturnes and percussion enhanced En attente du printemps by Moroccan Nabil Benabdeljalil. And Five Kaleidoscopes for Piano by Ghanaian-born to Nigerian parents, Fred Onovwerosuoke, best known for Bolingo, featured in the 2006 Robert de Niro film, The Good Shepherd. They evocatively reference a beehive, love of homeland, Nubian folklore and the elemental power of Nature. African Pianism takes its title from Ghanaian J.H. Kwabena Nketia’s set of Twelve Pedagogical Pieces, richly influenced by the rhythmic, tonal accent of African percussion music. Ayo Bankole’s Egun Variations, remarks Robert Matthew-Walker in his booklet notes, “skilfully melds… Nigerian musical language within a European G major tonal structure”. Fellow Nigerians Christian Onyeji and Akin Euba also interrogate African drumming technique to brilliant effect in the former’s Ufie (Igbo Dance), the latter’s Three Yoruba Songs Without Words celebrating indigenous song. David Earl’s ‘Princess Rainbow’, from his autobiographical Scenes from a South African Childhood, is a touching memory of fly-fishing with his father. Hailed as an “African classical music pioneer” (BBC World Service), award-winning pianist Rebeca Omordia is an exciting virtuoso with a wide-ranging career as soloist, chamber musician and recording artist. She is artistic director of the African Concert Series in London, part of Wigmore Hall’s Family of Partners. The 2022 series launches at London’s Africa Centre on January 25. Rebeca’s previous SOMM release, The Piano Music of Ralph Vaughan Williams was hailed by MusicWeb International as “spellbinding music”.
Artikelnummer SOMMCD0647
Streckkod 0748871064720
Utgivningsdatum 2022-02-11
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag SOMM Recordings
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Omordia, Rebeca
Saadoun, Abdelkader
Kompositörer Various
Disk: 1
1 Egun Variations in G major
Three Yoruba Songs Without Words
2 Play Time
3 Dagarti Work Song
4 Builsa Work Song
5 Volta Fantasy
6 I. Moderately fast
7 Ii. Slow
8 Iii. Fast
9 I. With vigor
10 Ii. Adagio molto parlando
11 Iii. Larghetto espressivo
12 Iv. Lentissimo e languendo
13 V. Vivace con brio
14 Ii. Princess Rainbow
15 Nocturne Iv
16 Nocturne V
17 Nocturne Vi
18 En attente du printemps
Three Yoruba Songs Without Words
19 Ore Meta (Three Years)
20 Mo Ja'we Gbegbe ( I pluck the leaf of remembrance)
21 L'ori Oke ati petele (On the hill, on the plain)
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om African Pianism, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Various - Eclogue - Chamber Ensemble of London
159 kr
Various - One Hundred Years of British Song, Vol. 3 - Gilchrist, James
159 kr
Various - Hail Caledonia: Scotland in Music - Sutherland, Iain
159 kr
Dickinson, Peter - Lockdown Blues - Dickinson, Peter
Various - Mosaic - A4 Brass Quartet SOMMCD0638 2021-09-03 159 kr
Various - Nightlight - Williams, Cordelia SOMMCD0639 2021-09-03 159 kr
Various - One Hundred Years of British Song, Vol. 2 - Gilchrist, James SOMMCD0636 2021-07-02 159 kr
Various - Favourite Orchestral Classics - Philharmonic Concert Orchestra ARIADNE5012 2021-06-04 159 kr
Various - Duos by Miguez & Oswald - Treasures from the New World, Vol. 2 - Flint, Anthony SOMMCD0632 2021-04-30 159 kr
Various - Dreams Melting - Geer, James SOMMCD0630 2021-03-19 159 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar