Various - Bach & Beyond (5CD) - Koh, Jennifer

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Hailed as an “epic traversal of solo violin repertoire” and a “monumental achievement” (Chicago Tribune), American violinist Jennifer Koh’s complete Bach & Beyond recordings, pairing J.S. Bach’s violin sonatas and partitas with 20th- and 21st-century works inspired by Bach’s groundbreaking masterpieces, are now available in a convenient, economical boxed set offering all three albums for the price of two. Bach & Beyond Part 1 features Koh’s “alluring performances” (The New York Times) of Bach’s Partitas Nos. 2 and 3, Eugène Ysaÿe’s Sonata No. 2, Kaija Saariaho’s Nocturne, and the world-premiere recording of Missy Mazzoli’s Dissolve, O My Heart, commissioned for Koh by the Los Angeles Philharmonic. The Newark Star-Ledger cited the violinist’s “distinctive voice over a range of styles.” Toronto’s The Whole Note said of Bach & Beyond Part 2, “Koh, as always, is superb, her intelligence and interpretation always matching her outstanding technique” in Bach’s Sonata No. 1 and Partita No. 1, Bela Bartok’s Sonata for Solo Violin Sz. 117, BB 124, and Saariaho’s Frises. Koh’s Bach & Beyond Part 3 earned BBC Music Magazine’s and’s highest ratings for performance and recording quality. The Strad admired Koh’s “eloquent, artful, yet unadorned playing” in Bach’s Sonatas Nos. 2 and 3, Luciano Berio’s Sequenza VIII, and the world-premiere recording of John Harbison’s For Violin Alone, written for Koh. AllMusic said, “Koh’s series is highly recommended to those in search of an experience that will reward repeated hearings.” Audiophile Audition called it a “remarkable three-disc effort, recommended to all with a good degree of urgency.”
Artikelnummer BOX1004
Streckkod 0735131100427
Utgivningsdatum 2021-09-10
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Cedille
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 5
Artister Koh, Jennifer
Kompositörer Various
Disk: 1
Partita No. 2 in D minor, Bwv 1004
1 I. Prelude
2 Ii. Loure
3 Iii. Gavotte & Rondeau
4 Iv. Menuet I & Ii
5 V. Bourrée
6 Vi. Gigue
7 I. Obsession; Prelude
8 Ii. Malincolia
9 Iii. Danse des Ombres; Sarabande
10 Iv. Les furies
11 Nocturne
12 Dissolve, O My Heart
Partita No. 2 in D minor, Bwv 1004
13 I. Allemanda
14 Ii. Corrente
15 Iii. Sarabanda
16 Iv. Giga
17 V. Ciaccona
Disk: 2
Sonata for Solo Violin Sz. 117, Bb 124
1 I. Adagio
2 Ii. Fuga
3 Iii. Siciliana
4 Iv. Presto
5 I. Tempo di ciaccona
6 Ii. Fuga
7 Iii. Melodia
8 Iv. Presto
Disk: 3
Partita No. 1 in B minor, Bwv 1002
1 I. Frise Jaune
2 Ii. Frise de Fleur
3 Iii. Pavage
4 Iv. Frise Grise
5 I. Allemanda
6 Ii. Double
7 Iii. Corrente
8 Iv. Double
9 V. Sarabande
10 Vi. Double
11 Vii. Tempo di Borea
12 Viii. Double
Disk: 4
Sonata No. 2 in A minor, Bwv 1003
1 I. Grave
2 Ii. Fuga
3 Iii. Andante
4 Iv. Allegro
5 Sequenza Viii for solo violin
Disk: 5
Sonata No. 3 in C major, Bwv 1005
1 I. Ground
2 Ii. Dance 1
3 Iii. Air
4 Iv. March
5 V. Dance 2
6 Vi. Duet
7 Vii. Epilogue
8 I. Adagio
9 Ii. Fuga
10 Iii. Largo
11 Iv. Allegro assai
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Bach & Beyond (5CD), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Project W – Works by Diverse Women Composers - Chicago Sinfonietta - Various
159 kr
Lipman, Matthew - Ascent - Various
159 kr
Sisters in Song - Cabell, Nicole - Various
159 kr
Hampson, Thomas - Songs from Chicago - Various
Alla Zingarese - - Various CDR90000179 2018-08-17 159 kr
Notorious RBG in Song - Michaels, Patrice - Various CDR90000178 2018-06-08 159 kr
Third Coast Percussion - Paddle to the Sea - Various CDR90000175 2018-02-09 159 kr
Portraits — Works for Flute, Clarinet & Piano - McGill/McHale Trio - Various CDR0000172 2017-08-18 159 kr
Various - Excelsior - Fifth House Ensemble CDR90000148 2014-09-24 159 kr
Koh, Jennifer - Solo Chaconnes - Various CDR90000060 2011-01-01 149 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar