Bach, J S - Baroque Suites - Proshayev, Denys

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
A French-Russian keyboard wizard offers three contrasting perspectives on Baroque style: an original, fascinating and rewarding concept album. ‘There's real authority and vision’ to Proshayev’s Schumann, observed The Guardian on Denys Proshayev’s debut album for Piano Classics in 2013 (PCL0057): ‘the cleanness and clarity of his playing are hard to ignore.’ A second album focused on Alfred Schnittke (PCL0071), drawing the following praise from Fanfare: ‘A well played and well recorded programme… Proshayev and his duo partner Nadia Mokhtari really get into the spirit of the [Gogol Suite]… Proshayev has a clear tone and lucid technique. He prioritizes clarity over histrionics, yet never skimps on drama.’ A previous collection of Rameau also won high praise, and his latest album ingeniously unites his particular sympathy for Schnittke with his poise and imaginative tonal colouring of Baroque masters. A booklet interview reveals that it was the ‘unbelievable beauty and harmonious refinement’ of Rameau’s music that drew Proshayev to him, despite the challenges involved in transferring a completely original and highly ornamented idiom from harpsichord to piano: ‘On the modern piano, these ornaments offer such a great variety of possibilities, unimaginable nuances and so much freedom that these technical challenges at the end give place to pleasure.’ Proshayev’s pleasure in performance will be shared by the listener in these new recordings of the E minor Suite by Rameau, imaginatively paired with the Sixth Partita composed in the same key by Bach. For Proshayev the challenges involved in playing Bach are at least as much spiritual as technical: ‘Bach’s music is the quintessence of the highest concentration of emotions and spirituality.’ He concludes with a piano-duet arrangement of the Suite in Olden Style which Schnittke originally composed for violin and piano as a homage to the Baroque masters, uninflected by the irony and distance characterising some of his other ‘polystylistic’ experiments in music. An original program presenting 3 Baroque Suites by two Baroque masters and one 20th century master: Johann Sebastian Bach, Jean-Philippe Rameau and Alfred Schnittke. Apart from their stylistic differences they share the common characteristics of the Baroque Suite, a succession of dance movements displaying charm, grace and irrepressible zest and wit. Denys Proshayev plays the 6th Partita in E minor by Bach, the Suite in E minor by Rameau and Suite in Ancient Style by Schnittke, an arrangement for piano 4 hands (original violin and piano), in which Proshayev plays with Nadia Mokhtari. Russian pianist Denys Proshayev has a strong affinity to Baroque and Contemporary music. His Sony CD with suites by Rameau was “Best CD of the year 2006” in Die Zeit. His two previous CD’s for Piano Classics (Schumann Davidsbundlertanze) and Schnittke (Concerto and solo works) were met with great critical acclaim. The booklet contains an interesting interview with the artist, dealing about playing Baroque music on the piano.
Artikelnummer PCL10179
Streckkod 5029365101790
Utgivningsdatum 2019-10-04
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Piano Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Proshayev, Denys
Mokhtari, Nadia
Kompositörer Bach, J S
Rameau, J P
Schnittke, Alfred
Disk: 1
1 I. Toccata
2 II. Allemande
3 III. Corrente
4 IV. Air
5 V. Sarabande
6 VI. Tempo di Gavotta
7 VII. Gigue
8 I. Allemande
9 II. Courante
10 III. Gigue en rondeau I
11 IV. Gigue en rondeau II
12 V. Le rappel des oiseaux
13 VI. Rigaudon I
14 VII. Rigaudon II
15 VIII. Double Rigaudon
16 IX. Mussette en rondeau
17 X. Tambourin
18 XI. La villageoise
19 I. Pastorale: Moderato
20 II. Ballet: Allegro
21 III. Minuet: Tempo di Minuetto
22 IV. Fugue: Allegro
23 V. Pantomime: Andantino
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Baroque Suites, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Bach, J S - Goldberg Variations BWV 988 - Wurtz, Klara
189 kr
Danish String Quartet, The - Prism II - Beethoven, Ludwig van
219 kr
Bach, J S - French Suites - Sheng, Yuan
189 kr
Bach, J S - Piano Transcriptions - Delucchi, Emanuele
Schnittke, Alfred - Piano Concerto - Proshayev, Denys PCL0071 2014-10-08 119 kr
Bach, J S - Die Kunst der Fuge - Sit Fast EL1125 2011-06-17 189 kr
Bach, J S - Cantatas, Vol. 23 - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor) SDG131 2007-05-14 289 kr
Bach, J S - Cantatas BWV 85, 175, 183 & 199 - Scholl, Andreas (countertenor) E8911 2007-04-30 119 kr
Schnittke, Alfred - Symphony No. 0/Nagasaki - Hughes, Owain Arwel (conductor) BIS1647 2007-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Bach, J S - Cantatas, Vol. 22: Easter Cantatas - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor) SDG128 2007-03-14 289 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar