Goodman, Benny / O'Day, Anita - Benny Goodman Orchestra Live 1959 (2LP)

Köp + Lägg till önskelista + 289 kr - Fåtal i lager

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Recorded live at Stadthalle Freiburg on October 15, 1959

Benny Goodman (cl), Anita O'Day (voc), Russ Freeman (p), Red Norvo (vib), Jack Sheldon (tp, voc), Flip Phillips (ts), Bill Harris (tb), Jerry Dodgion (fl , as), Jimmy Wyble (g), Red Wootten (b), John Markham (dr)

Benny Goodman's playing was the embodiment of swing. Moreover, his silky-smooth tone helped boost the clarinet's status as lead instrument throughout the decades of the swing era. And whatever one says about the qualities of the soloist, is equally true of the bands he led - exemplary symbioses of perfection and feeling. The momentum his music generates derives from the lively inspiration of the jazz rhythms themselves. The concert's opening number, "Let's Dance", became Benny Goodman's theme tune when he rose to stardom on a radio show of the same name with his band in 1934.

Freiburg, 15 October 1959. With a handpicked band, an unerring sense of swing and proven entertainer qualities, Benny Goodman had no trouble whipping the two thousand jazz fans at the city's Stadthalle into a frenzy. Notwithstanding to the individual brilliance of its musicians, one of the strengths of this touring band assembled by Benny Goodman was the way it combined a range of orchestral colours with the fl exibility of smaller ensembles drawn from among the band members. In Anita O'Day, the bandleader had brought to Europe a singer whose recordings already enjoyed a massive following, millions of fans who were not alone in considering her one of the outstanding white jazz vocalists of the day. In these recordings she demonstrates her versatility and originality - with a spectrum that ranges from interpretations of romantic ballads to lightning quick improvisations with scat vocals. The band's repertoire offers a kaleidoscopic mix of jazz standards and Goodman classics, giving each performer ample material to work with - the whole programme effectively choreographed by the bandleader himself. What we have here is great music combined with top-level entertainment - one would expect nothing less from such a moment in the history of jazz.
Artikelnummer 101732
Streckkod 0807280173291
Utgivningsdatum 2013-11-27
Kategori Jazz
Skivbolag Jazzhaus
Enhet Vinyl
Antal enheter 2
Artister Goodman, Benny / O'Day, Anita
Disk: 1
1 Air Mail Special
2 Get Happy
3 Honeysuckle Rose
4 Come Rain or Come Shine
5 Boogie Blues / Let Me Off Uptown
6 Lead-in Benny Goodman
7 Body and Soul
8 Whispering
9 But Not For Me
10 Four Brothers
11 Anita's Blues
12 Breakfast Feud
Disk: 2
1 Slipped Disc
2 I Want To Be Happy
3 Memories of You
4 Don't Get Around Much Anymore
5 Applause & Lead-in / Ten-Bone
6 Riff Raff
7 Medley: Don't Be That Way
8 Stompin' At the Savoy
9 Sunny Side of the Street
10 In A Mellow Tone
11 Moonglow
12 Sing, Sing, Sing
13 Bei mir bist du scheen
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Benny Goodman Orchestra Live 1959 (2LP), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Goodman, Benny / O'Day, Anita - Benny Goodman Orchestra feat. Anita O'Day (Live)
229 kr
Koller, Hans - Live 1959 (LP)
229 kr
Modern Jazz Quartet (The) - Lost Tapes: Germany 1956-1958 (LP)
229 kr
Mangelsdorff, Albert - Live at Freiburg 1964 (LP)
Mulligan, Gerry (saxophone) - Live in Stuttgart 1977 (LP) 101725 2013-05-29 229 kr
Pettiford, Oscar - Lost Tapes: Baden-Baden 1958/59 (LP) 101724 2013-04-10 229 kr
Ellington, Duke - Stuttgart 1967 (LP) 101722 2013-04-10 229 kr
Hipp, Jutta - Lost Tapes: German Recordings 1952-55 (LP) 101721 2012-12-05 229 kr
Pat Metheny Group - Offramp LP2331216 2010-02-08 269 kr
Ej i lager
Pat Metheny Group - Pat Metheny Group LP2331114 2010-02-08 269 kr
Ej i lager
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar