Birdcage: 73'20.958'' for a Composer (DVD) - Cage, John

Lägg till önskelista + 239 kr - Ej i lager

By releasing the DVD “Birdcage: 73'20.958" for a Composer”, WERGO presents another highlight among the releases marking the composer's 100th birthday:

The legendary film collage, created in 1972 on commission of WDR and SWR on the occasion of the 60th birthday of John Cage and premiered at the Donaueschingen Music Festival, paints an extraordinary picture of Cage the Artist, of his musical and extra-musical thinking, his character and his remarkable oeuvre. The cinematographic composition, which is released here in the unabridged original version for the first time, was realized by the composer and writer Hans G Helms.

Helms assembled various film materials into a special kind of mosaic: Historical flashbacks, biographical milestones and music recordings are complemented by original commentaries of the composer's contemporaries, companions and friends, such as Carolyn Brown, Philip Corner, Merce Cunningham, Teeny Duchamp, Don Gillespie, Doris Hays, Frederic Rzewski, Grete Sultan, Margaret Tan, David Tudor, Yoko Ono, John Lennon, and Paul Zukofsky. The twittering of birds – symbol of the aesthetically unintentional and basic material of Cage's tape composition “Birdcage” – runs like a thread through the film, forming its musical basis.

Produced by IFAGE on behalf of Westdeutscher Rundfunk, Köln, and Südwestfunk, Baden-Baden, 1972.

Language: English?; German
Sound format: Mono
Disk type: DVD 5
Country code: (0) PAL? ; NTSC
Length: ca. 73 min
Artikelnummer MV8065
Streckkod 4010228080650
Utgivningsdatum 2012-09-01
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Wergo
Enhet DVD
Antal enheter 1
Kompositörer Cage, John
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Birdcage: 73'20.958'' for a Composer (DVD), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Cage, John - Cage After Cage - Kaul, Matthias (percussion)
239 kr
Cage, John - Two3 - Hussong, Stefan
159 kr
Cage, John - Sonatas and Interludes - Anissegos, Antonis
259 kr
Cage, John - Journeys in Sound
Cage, John - Da lontano - Svoboda, Mike WER67442 2012-09-03 159 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Cage, John - Etudes Australes - Liebner, Sabine WER67402 2011-11-02 389 kr
Cage, John - Dream WER67132 2009-04-01 159 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Frescobaldi, Girolamo - Anarchic Harmonies - Svoboda, Mike WER66552 2002-04-01 159 kr
Cage, John - Works for Percussion - Quatuor Helios WER62032 1991-07-01 159 kr
Cage, John - Sonatas & Interludes - Pierce, Joshua WER60156-50 1989-07-01 159 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar