Beamish, Sally - Birdsong - Williams, Roderick

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
SOMM Recordings is pleased to announce Birdsong, a fascinating cross-gender exploration of art songs associated with the female voice by baritone Roderick Williams, accompanied by pianist Andrew West. The recital features signature songs from the height of Romanticism by Brahms and Clara and Robert Schumann alongside a more recent quartet of sensuous songs by Sally Beamish. In his revealing foreword, Williams recalls having his choice of Brahms’s Sapphische Ode refused by competition organizers because it was “a woman’s song”. Returning recently to the work prompted him to question why some songs are considered gender specific. Birdsong is his response. In his informative booklet notes, Richard Stokes notes that Brahms’s songs “betrays his own essentially melancholic nature” and his difficulty in “sustaining emotional relationships with the women in his life”. His nine songs here include the bittersweet An die Nachtigall, the moving innocent ardency of Das Mädchen spricht and the quiet, earnest longing of Sapphische Ode. Clara Schumann’s Liebst du um Schönheit provides an authentic female perspective on courtship, as does Sally Beamish’s Four Songs from Hafez (for which she provides her own notes), taking inspiration from the Iranian-born, Glasgow-based Jila Peacock’s evocative translations and artistic rendering of the 14th-century Persian Sufi poet’s texts. An intimate exploration of a young woman’s feelings towards an older man of higher birth, Robert Schumann’s Frauenliebe und-leben acquires new facets when heard in Williams’ characterful baritone.
Artikelnummer SOMMCD0633
Streckkod 0748871063327
Utgivningsdatum 2021-07-16
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag SOMM Recordings
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Williams, Roderick
West, Andrew
Kompositörer Beamish, Sally
Brahms, Johannes
Schumann, Clara
Schumann, Robert
Disk: 1
1 An die Nachtigall, Op.46 No.4
2 Mädchenlied, Op.107 No.5
3 Das Mädchen, Op.95 No.1
4 Liebst du um Schönheit, Op.12 No.2
5 Das Mädchen spricht, Op.107 No.3
6 Salamander, Op.107 No.2
7 Nachtigall, Op.97 No.1
Four Songs from Hafez
8 Nightingale
9 Peacock
10 Fish
11 Hoopoe
12 Vergebliches Ständchen, Op.84 No.4
13 Sapphische Ode, Op.94 No.4
14 Von ewiger Lieber, Op.43 No.1
Four Songs from Hafez
15 Seit ich ihn Gesehen
16 Er, der Herrlichste von allen
17 Ich kann's nicht fassen, nicht glauben
18 Du Ring an meinem Finger
19 Helft mir, ihr Schwestern
20 Süsser Freund
21 An meinem Herzen, an meiner Brust
22 Nun hast du mir den ersten Schmerz getan
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Birdsong, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


299 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Lyrical Echoes (2CD) - Pieczonka, Adrianne
299 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Clara, Robert, Johannes - Darlings of the Muses - Montero, Gabriela
169 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Schumann & Brahms - Sonatas and Songs - Poltera, Christian
139 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Works for Violin and Piano - Okada, Shuichi
Brahms, Johannes - Sviatoslav Richter plays Schumann & Brahms (12 CD) - Richter, Sviatoslav PH17067 2018-03-23 369 kr
Schumann, Robert - Schumann Romances - Moinet, Céline 0300991BC 2018-02-02 159 kr
Schumann, Robert - Piano Quartet; Piano Quintet - Sudbin, Yevgeny BIS2258 2017-11-24 169 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Symphony No. 1; Symphony No. 4 - Cantelli, Guido ICAC5143 2017-11-17 139 kr
Schumann, Robert - Claudio Arrau plays Schumann & Brahms - Claudio Arrau PTC5186170 2013-08-03 189 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Viola Sonatas - Imai, Nobuko CHAN8550 2006-09-01 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar