Acceptera cookies

NaxosDirect använder cookies. Genom att fortsätta på sidan godkänner du användandet av cookies.
Jag accepterar

Bach, J S - Cantatas, Vol. 12 - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor)

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
The Monteverdi Choir
The English Baroque Soloists
John Eliot Gardiner, conductor

- SDG is delighted to release Volume 12 - Cantatas for the twenty-second and twenty-third Sundays after trinity.

- John Eliot Gardiner, The Monteverdi Choir and The English Baroque Soloists performed both of these programmes in England: at All Saints church in Tooting and at Winchester Cathedral, in November 2000.

- The soloists include James Gilchrist, Peter Harvey and Joanne Lunn.

- The highlight of this album is Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme ("Sleepers, wake") - one of Bach's best known cantatas, and one that has long been part of the Monteverdi Choir's repertoire. It is described as "a cantata without weaknesses, without a dull bar, technically, emotionally and spiritually of the highest order".

- Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht ("I, wretched man, I slave to sin") is Bach's only cantata for solo tenor still in existence. It is sung movingly by James Gilchrist.

- Of three cantatas on the parable of the unjust steward (BWV 55, 89, 115), Mache dich, mein Geist, bereit ("Prepare yourself, my soul") is considered to stand out for its subtle instrumental writing and spellbinding arias, which evoke the yearning of the soul for divine mercy.

- The recording in Tooting (CD1) is the only one in the whole series that wasn't recorded live: the original concert took place in Eton chapel, right under the Heathrow airport flight path, so we had to try and recreate the same conditions in a quieter place.

- This album is packaged with a separate index sheet of the Cantata series.

Artikelnummer SDG171
Streckkod 0843183017126
Utgivningsdatum 2010-10-04
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Soli Deo Gloria
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 2
Artister Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor)
Kompositörer Bach, J S
Disk: 1
1 Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht, BWV55
2 Was soll ich aus dir machen, Ephraim, BWV89
3 Mache dich, mein Geist, bereit, BWV115
4 O Ewigkeit, du Donnerwort II, BWV60
Disk: 2
1 Wohl dem, der sich auf seinen Gott, BWV139
2 Nur jedem das Seine, BWV163
3 Falsche Welt, dir trau ich nicht, BWV52
4 Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV140
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Cantatas, Vol. 12, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


289 kr
Bach, J S - Cantatas, Vol. 6 - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor)
159 kr
Bach, J S - Cantatas, Vol. 16 - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor)
289 kr
Bach, J S - Cantatas, Vol. 23 - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor)
289 kr
Bach, J S - Cantatas, Vol. 22: Easter Cantatas - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor)
Bach, J S - Cantatas, Vol. 7 - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor) SDG124 2006-10-02 289 kr
Bach, J S - Cantatas, Vol. 26 - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor) SDG121 2006-05-01 289 kr
Bach, J S - Cantatas, Vol. 19 - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor) SDG115 2006-01-23 289 kr
Bach, J S - Alles mit Gott - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor) SDG114 2005-10-01 159 kr
Bach, J S - Cantatas, Vol. 1 - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor) SDG101 2005-01-17 289 kr
Bach, J S - Cantatas, Vol. 8 - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor) SDG104 2005-01-17 289 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar