Bach, J S - Cello Suites, The - Isserlis, Steven (cello)

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar



'Steven Isserlis is a cellist renowned above all for his intelligent approach to music-making. And he is clearly thinking deeply here, thinking his way into the soul of the works. Yet there comes a point where head and heart entwine and what emerges is a set of intensely affecting as well as thought-provoking interpretations. The cellist has often said that he would never feel ready to tackle these masterpieces. He need fear them no longer.'

Steven Isserlis was recently described in The Independent as ‘the stuff of legend’. Steven Isserlis’s award-winning discography spans his diverse interests in repertoire and his musicological enthusiasm, as well as demonstrating his supreme artistry and uniquely beautiful sound, and his first recording of the complete Bach cello suites is an indelibly important addition to the set.

Steven writes that ‘the Bach suites are works of such total perfection, such sublimity, that it is well-nigh impossible to feel ready for them’. He has proved more than adequate to the task and this release is a triumphant conclusion to an artistic pilgrimage.

Steven’s eloquent booklet notes reveal his personal thoughts about the suites, as well as extensive academic research. His is an interpretation that has come from his passionate involvement in the music rather than from following the various theories that abound in Bach scholarship, and he discusses it fully in an article which is a perfect complement to this wonderful release.
Steven Isserlis, cello

CD 1
Suite No 1 in G major BWV1007
1 Prelude
2 Allemande
3 Courante
4 Sarabande
5 Menuet I – Menuet II
6 Gigue

Suite No 2 in D minor BWV1008
7 Prelude
8 Allemande
9 Courante
10 Sarabande
11 Menuet I – Menuet II
12 Gigue

Suite No 3 in C major BWV1009
13 Prelude
14 Allemande
15 Courante
16 Sarabande
17 Bourrée I – Bourrée II
18 Gigue

Suite No 4 in E flat major BWV1010
19 Prelude
20 Allemande
21 Courante
22 Sarabande
23 Bourrée I – Bourrée II
24 Gigue

CD 2
Suite No 5 in C minor BWV1011
1 Prelude
2 Allemande
3 Courante
4 Sarabande
5 Gavotte I – Gavotte II
6 Gigue

Suite No 6 in D major BWV1012
7 Prelude
8 Allemande
9 Courante
10 Sarabande
11 Gavotte I – Gavotte II
12 Gigue

13 The Song of the Birds Catalan folksong, arranged by Sally Beamish
14 Prelude from Suite No 1 from the Anna Magdalena manuscript
15 Prelude from Suite No 1 from the Johann Peter Kellner manuscript
16 Prelude from Suite No 1 from the collection of Johann Christoph Westphal
Artikelnummer CDA67541
Streckkod 0034571175416
Utgivningsdatum 2007-05-24
Kategori Cello
Skivbolag Hyperion
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 2
Artister Isserlis, Steven (cello)
Kompositörer Bach, J S
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Cello Suites, The, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Elgar / Walton - Cello Concertos - Isserlis, Steven (cello)
169 kr
Bach, J S / Handel / Scarlatti - Gamba Sonatas - Isserlis, Steven (cello)
329 kr
Beethoven, Ludwig van - Cello Sonatas - Isserlis, Steven (cello)
169 kr
Dvorák, Antonín - Cello Concertos - Isserlis, Steven (cello)
Isserlis, Steven (cello) - Lieux retrouvés - Music for cello & piano CDA67948 2012-09-05 169 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Cello Sonatas - Isserlis, Steven (cello) CDA30005 2010-09-20 169 kr
Schumann, Robert - Music for Cello and Piano - Isserlis, Steven (cello) CDA67661 2009-02-16 169 kr
Bach, J S - Cello Suites - Queyras, Jean-Guihen (cello) HMC901970 2007-09-10 289 kr
Schumann/Volkmann - Romantic Cello Concerto (The), Vol. 2 - Lintu, Hannu CDA67583 2007-02-14 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Brahms, Johannes - Cello Sonatas Nos. 1 & 2 - Isserlis, Steven (cello) CDA67529 2005-10-10 169 kr
Ej i lager
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar