Handel, G F - Complete Cantatas, Vol. 4

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Stefanie True, soprano; Klaartje van Veldhoven, soprano
Contrasto Armonico / Marco Vitale

The 4th volume of Brilliant Classics' recordings of Handel's complete cantatas, performed by Contrasto Armonico and directed by Marco Vitale, gathers together five works that vividly illustrate the composer's skill at setting the words of his texts, creating hitherto unknown emotional depth and nuance from modest orchestral forces.

The musical setting of Clori, mia bella Clori amply displays the genius that would establish Handel as the leading operatic composer of his day, using a range of different combinations of instruments to respond to the subject of each section of the text, from grief and weeping to passionate jealousy. Similarly, in both Pensieri notturni di Filli (Nel dolce dell'oblio) and Lungi n'andò Fileno Handel employs striking dissonance to create a musical counterpart to the despair and suffering of the texts. By contrast, Sans y penser, Handel's only French cantata, is a comic work, closing with a humorous musical illustration of the singer's tribute to drinking.

Handel composed over 100 secular cantatas during his stay in Italy in the early 1700s. He had several patrons; among the most generous and supportive was the Marquis Francesco Maria Ruspoli, and most of the information on the works included on this disc comes from his records.

These cantatas reveal the richness of the young composer's compositional palette, and his ability to depict the content of his texts in such a way that the listener both hears and experiences the emotions of each work. As such, they are an important foreshadowing of his later career as a celebrated operatic composer.

Other information:
- Other titles in the series: Vol.1 (93999), Vol.2 (94000) & Vol.3 (94230)

- Accompanied by a 20-page booklet with notes on each of the cantatas and complete sung texts and translations

- The high level of performance (on historic instruments) and presentation

- Recordings made in 2010

Artikelnummer 94257
Streckkod 5028421942575
Utgivningsdatum 2011-12-07
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Brilliant Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Kompositörer Handel, G F
Disk: 1
Lungi n'andò Fileno HWV128
1 Recitativo Clori, mia bella Clori
2 Aria Chiari lumi
3 Recitativo Temo ma pure io spero
4 Aria Ne' gigli e nelle rose
5 Recitativo Non è però che non molesta e grave
6 Aria Mie pupille
7 Recitativo Tu nobil alma
8 Aria Di gelosia il timore
9 Chanson Sans y penser (Silvie)
10 Récitatif S'il ne falloit que bien aimer pour atte
11 Air Petite fleur brunette (Tirsis)
12 Récitatif Vous, qui m'aviez procuré une amour éter
13 Air Nos plaisirs seront peudurables (Silvie)
14 Récitatif Vous ne sauriez flatter ma peine (Silvie
15 Air Non, non, je ne puis plus souffrir (Tirsis)
16 Recitativo Clori, vezzosa Clori
17 Aria Il bosco, il prato, il rio
18 Recitativo Se l'usignol canoro
19 Aria Non è possibile o Clori amabile
20 Recitativo Nel dolce dell'oblio
21 Aria Giacché il sonno a lei dipinge
22 Recitativo Così fida ella vive
23 Aria Ha l'inganno il suo diletto
24 Recitativo Lungi, lungi n'andò Fileno
25 Aria Si piangete, o mie pupille
26 Recitativo Ahi! M'inganno, infelice
27 Aria Dunque se il tanto piangere
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Complete Cantatas, Vol. 4, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


95 kr (119 kr)
Caporale, Andrea - Cello Sonatas & Arias - Criscuolo, Renato (Cello)
359 kr (449 kr)
Handel, G F - Handel in Italy: Cantatas, Arias & Serenata (14 CD)
629 kr (1.049 kr)
Handel, G F - 65CD-BOX: Handel Edition
103 kr (129 kr)
Handel, G F - 2CD+DVD-BOX: Messiah - Cleobury, Stephen
Handel, G F - Water Music - Consort Of London 93779 2011-10-26 55 kr (69 kr)
Ej i lager
Handel, G F - Complete Cantatas, Vol. 3 - Vitale, Marco 94230 2011-08-03 95 kr (119 kr)
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Handel, G F - 40CD-BOX: A Handel Portrait 94214 2011-04-03 599 kr (749 kr)
Handel, G F - Messiah - Various Artists 93948 2011-01-03 103 kr (129 kr)
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Handel, G F - Messiah Highlights - Cleobury, Stephen 93270 2011-01-03 95 kr (119 kr)
Handel, G F - The Recorder Sonatas - Bosgraaf, Erik / Corti, Francesco 93792 2011-01-03 95 kr (119 kr)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar