Saint-Saëns, Camille - Complete Music for Organ (4CD) - Savino, Michele

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
While himself no conventional kind of Christian believer, Saint-Saëns worked as a church organist for much of his prodigiously long life and career. While still a teenager he won the premier prix for organ at the Paris Conservatoire. In 1857, at the age of 22, he was appointed as titular organist to the church of the Madeleine in Paris, where he remained until 1877; it was there that Liszt heard him improvising and hailed him as the greatest organist in the world. His output for the organ is no less subtly German-accented than much of his orchestral music, influenced by Schumann and Mendelssohn as well as disciplined by his comprehensive study of Bach and Beethoven as a child. While publicly maintaining an attitude of skepticism towards Wagner, he nonetheless wrote with a chromatic intensity which finds a natural home in the incense-soaked world of pieces such as the Elévation et Communion and the E major Offertoire. Other reflective works include a trio of Rhapsodies on Breton themes, Op 8, which invite comparison with similar folksong-based organ pieces by Vaughan Williams. Saint-Saëns understood how to exploit the full spectrum of tonal colors available on the instruments designed by the greatest organ builder of his age, Aristide Cavaillé-Coll, and even the apparently abstract designs of his many Preludes and Fugues invite the kind of swirling mists and brilliant sunshine evoked by Michele Savino on this newly recorded collection. The composer’s gifts as a colorist on the organ reach the summit of their expression in a collection of Seven Improvisations which, like much else here, deserves to be better known.
Artikelnummer 96219
Streckkod 5028421962191
Utgivningsdatum 2022-01-07
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Brilliant Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 4
Artister Savino, Michele
Kompositörer Saint-Saëns, Camille
Disk: 1
7 Improvisations, Op. 150
1 Fantaisie in E-flat Major
2 Benediction nuptiale, Op. 9
3 I. Andantino con moto
4 Ii. Allegro moderato e pomposo
5 Iii. Andantino
6 Dies irae
7 Fantasy in D-flat Major, Op. 101
8 Marche religieuse, Op. 107
9 Offertoire
10 Marche-cortège in E-flat Major
11 Interlude fugué in G Minor
12 Offertoire in F Major
13 Procession in C Major
14 Elévation
15 Offertoire in D Major
16 Ave Verum
17 Offertoire in E Minor
18 Elévation
19 Prelude in F Major
20 Verset in E Minor
21 Verset in F Major
22 Elevation, ou Communion, Op. 13
23 Prélude in C Major
24 Cyprès et lauriers, Op. 156: I. Cypres
25 O salutaris hostia
26 Prelude and Fugue in C Minor: Prelude
27 Fantaisie No. 3 in C Major, Op. 157
28 Prelude No. 1 in E Major
29 Fugue No. 1 in E Major
30 Prelude No. 2 in B Major
31 Fugue No. 2 in B Major
32 Prelude No. 3 in E-flat Major
33 Fugue No. 3 in E-flat Major
34 Prelude No. 1 in D Minor
35 Fugue No. 1
36 Prelude No. 2 in G Major
37 Fugue No. 2
38 Prelude No. 3 in C Major
39 Fugue No. 3
40 No. 1. Molto lento
41 No. 2. Feria Pentecostes
42 No. 3. Poco adagio
43 No. 4. Allegretto
44 No. 5. Pro Martyribus
45 No. 6. Pro Defunctis
46 No. 7. Allegro giocoso
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Complete Music for Organ (4CD), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


119 kr
Saint-Saëns, Camille - Cello Sonatas - Favalessa, Andrea
119 kr
Saint-Saëns, Camille - Piano Quartets - Quartetto Avos
119 kr
Saint-Saëns, Camille - Cello Sonatas Nos. 1 & 2 / Suite - Kliegel, Maria (cello)
169 kr
Saint-Saëns, Camille - Piano Trios Nos. 1 & 2 - Florestan Trio (The)
Saint-Saëns, Camille - Fantasies; Preludes; Fugues - Fagius, Hans BIS556 2005-04-16 169 kr
Saint-Saëns, Camille - Violin Concerto No. 2; Spartacus; La Muse et le Poète - Kantorow, Jean-Jacques BIS1060 2001-11-01 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Saint-Saëns, Camille - Capriccio for violin and orchestra - Kantorow, Jean-Jacques (violin) BIS860 1998-01-25 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Saint-Saëns, Camille - Complete Etudes - Lane, Piers (piano) CDA67037 1998-01-01 169 kr
Saint-Saëns, Camille - Africa; Symphony No. 2; Symphonie en fa Urbs Roma - Mikkola, Laura BIS790 1997-05-25 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Saint-Saëns, Camille - Symphony No.3; Dance Macabre - Fagius, Hans BIS555 1992-10-25 169 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar