Complete Organ Music - Tomadin, Manuel - Strungk, Nicolaus Adam

Lägg till önskelista + 129 kr - Utgången

In this release we dive headfirst into 17th-century Northern Germany, a time of innovation and experimentation in music for the organ. As these imposing instruments were installed in cathedrals across Europe, the repertoire flourished. Three composers grace this set: Delphin Strungk, his son Nicolaus Adam Strungk and Peter Mohrhardt, and their musical output sheds light on the transition period between the Renaissance and Baroque eras. Delphin Strungk opens the set with an organ arrangement of a motet by Orlando di Lasso, a pioneer of the polyphonic style. Strungk was a highly respected organist and took up several posts during his lifetime including one as the court organist in Celle. His performances won him international acclaim and academics from across the continent would come to hear him play. Magnificat noni toni was a favourite of Duke Rudolph Augustus, Prince of Brunswick-Wolfenbuttel, who often came to Braunschweig to watch him play. Strungk explores the potential of the instrument and uses special echo effects in several pieces. It’s a technique also employed by Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck, and it’s possible Strungk was one of his pupils. Peter Mohrhardt moved in the same musical circles as Strungk but fewer of his compositions have survived, all of which are included here. His pieces reflect the influence of Sweelinck and Scheidemann, including echo effects, for example. However his music is also forward-looking, and the arrangements feature a highly ornamented cantus firmus, while the chorale fantasias show off the virtuosity of the performer, typical of Baroque keyboard music. Nicolaus Adam Strungk was active at the same time as Mohrhardt. As the son of Delphin Strungk, he grew up under the guidance of his father and was employed by various members of the nobility, later performing for the emperor Leopold I. As the most modern composer of the three, technological advancements in organ building, such as the introduction of tempered tunings, allowed the composer to experiment with new tonalities. Admired by J.S. Bach, Strungk was influenced by Arcangelo Corelli, whom he met in Rome in 1685. This was the same year that Strungk learned of the death of his mother, inspiring his Ricercar sopra la morte della mia carissima Madre, whose melancholy melody bears clear signs of the Italian master’s influence. This new recording presents three underestimated composers of the 17th century, a period of abundant experimentation in music. This was an era for innovation of organs, particular in Northern Germany where instruments of considerable size were being installed in important churches and cathedrals. Another enterprising recording by Manuel Tomadin, one of the leading Italian organists of our day. He already made numerous recordings for Brilliant Classics, including works by Lubeck, Leyding, Kneller, Geist, Krebs, Alberti, the Husumer Orgelbuch and others. Tomadin plays on two historic organs, the Arp Schnitger organ (ca. 1700) in Uithuizen and the Hans Scherer organ (ca. 1624) of St. Stephan in Tangermunde. The booklet contains extensive liner notes on the composers as well as the disposition of the organs.
Artikelnummer 95758
Streckkod 5028421957586
Utgivningsdatum 2019-10-04
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Brilliant Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 2
Artister Tomadin, Manuel
Kompositörer Strungk, Nicolaus Adam
Strungk, Delphin
Mohrhardt, Peter
Disk: 1
1 I. Prima pars
2 II. Secunda pars
3 Lass mich dein sein und bleiben
4 Toccata ad manuale duplex
5 I. Prima pars
6 II. Secunda pars. Ecce agnus
7 Ich hab mein Sach Gott heimgestellt
8 I. Primus versus. Pedaliter
9 II. Secundus versus
10 III. Tertius versus
11 Verbum caro factum est
12 Surrexit pastor bonus
13 Kyrie
14 Christe
15 Kyrie
16 Du Friedefurst, Herr Jesu Christ
17 Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ
18 Was furchtst du, Feind Herodes, sehr
19 Alle Welt, was lebt und webet
20 Allein zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ
21 Meine Seele erhebt den Herren: I. Primus versus: M
22 Wacht auf, ihr Christen alle
23 Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir
24 Herr Gott, dich loben wir
25 Capriccio in G Minor
26 Capriccio in A Minor
27 Capriccio in E Minor
28 Capriccio in F Major
29 Capriccio in A Minor
30 Capriccio in D Minor
31 Ricercar Sopra la Morte della mia carissima Madre
32 Capriccio on Ich dank dir schon durch deinen Sohn
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Complete Organ Music, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


359 kr
Martini, Giovanni Battista - Complete Organ Music (9CD) - Tomadin, Manuel
419 kr
Hassler, Hans Leo - Complete Organ Music (11CD) - Tomadin, Manuel
129 kr
Noordt, Anthoni van - Complete Organ Music (2CD) - Tomadin, Manuel
119 kr
Bertoldo, Sperindio - Complete Organ Music - Tomadin, Manuel
Georg Philipp Telemann - Die Kleine Kammermusik - Tomadin, Manuel 95517 2020-09-18 119 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Bach, J S - Harmonic Seasons - Tomadin, Manuel 95786 2019-12-06 119 kr
Krebs, Johann Ludwig - Complete Organ Music (7 CD) - Tomadin, Manuel 95363 2018-11-09 289 kr
Ej i lager
Lübeck, Vincent - Complete Harpsichord & Organ Music (2CD) - Tomadin, Manuel 95453 2018-07-27 129 kr
Tomadin, Manuel - Rosa Mystica: Magnificat for Organ - Various 95506 2018-01-19 119 kr
Alberti, Domenico - 4CD-BOX: Complete Keyboard Music - Tomadin, Manuel 95161 2016-01-15 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +

Andra har köpt

Andra kunder har även köpt:
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar