Medtner, Nikolay - Complete Songs, Vol. 1 - Incantation - Levental, Ekaterina

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Medtner’s legacy for solo piano is now widely esteemed alongside Rachmaninoff and other giants of the Russian ‘silver age’: melodists to their core, romantics at heart, yet rigorous craftsmen to their fingertips, who took their muse seriously and refined their inspiration to distil a peculiarly Russian spirit of melancholy in sound. However, around a third of Medtner’s output, measured by opus numbers, was dedicated to voices, and this section of his music has received much less attention. Ekaterina Levental has dedicated herself to correcting this imbalance. The Uzbek-born, Dutch-resident mezzo-soprano has given all of Medtner’s songs in concert with the pianist Frank Peters; together, they now embark on a recorded cycle. Medtner lacked nothing for self-sacrificing dedication to his art, and he chose to set the finest poets of his Russian homeland: Pushkin, Fet, Lermontov and others, and then Goethe and Eichendorff in German. Unlike Rachmaninoff he continued to write songs even after emigrating and settling in London. ‘Medtner's musical vocabulary is very rich and expressive,’ Levental and Peters explain in their own booklet note, which is printed together with English translations of the lyrics. ‘Some songs immediately captivate you, others require a certain effort from the listener. Anyone who takes up the challenge, makes a discovery. Every song is a treasure and an intimate, spiritual confession from the composer to his listener.’ In the category of ‘immediate appeal’ surely fall the two songs of Op.13: the ardent vocal response to Pushkin’s Winter Evening perfectly underscored by the stormy piano part. No less unmistakably Russian in expression is the complementary Epitaph, triumphant even in its mournfulness and like many other of the songs here not as stern as much of Medtner’s piano music. Any listener looking for the composer’s personal voice, behind the virtuoso keyboard fireworks, should start here.
Artikelnummer 96056
Streckkod 5028421960562
Utgivningsdatum 2020-08-28
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Brilliant Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Levental, Ekaterina
Peters, Frank
Kompositörer Medtner, Nikolay
Disk: 1
Zimniy vecher (Winter Evening), Op. 13, No. 1
1 No. 1. U vrat obiteli svyatoy (At the gate of the
2 No. 2. Ya perezhil svoi zhelan'ya (Gone are my hea
3 No. 3. Na ozere (On the Lake)
4 No. 1. Nezhdannïy dozhd' (Unexpected Rain)
5 No. 2. Ne mogu ya slïshat' etoy ptichki (Serenade)
6 No. 3. Babochka (The Butterfly)
7 No. 4. Tyazhela, bestsvetna i pusta (Heavy is the
8 No. 5. Vesenneye uspokoyeniye (Spring Solace)
9 No. 6. Sizhu zadumchiv i odin (Absorbed and alone)
10 No. 7. Poshli, gospod', svoyu otradu (Send thy com
11 No. 1. Muza (The Muse)
12 No. 2. Pevets (The Singer)
13 No. 3. Stikhi, sochinenniye noch'yu vo vremya bess
14 No. 4. Kon' (The Horse)
15 No. 5. Elegiya: Ya perezhil svoi zhelan'ya (Gone a
16 No. 6. Roza (The Rose)
17 No. 7. Zaklinaniye (The Call, Evocation)
18 No. 1. Den' i noch' (Day and Night)
19 No. 2. Chto ti klonish' nad vodami (Willow, why fo
20 No. 3. Duma za dumoy, volna za volnoy (Sea-swell a
21 No. 4. Sumerki (Twilight)
22 No. 5. Ya potryasen kogda krugom (O'er thee I bend
23 No. 6. Tol'ko vstrechu ulibku tvoyu (When my glanc
24 No. 7. Shopot, robkoye dikhan'ye (Whisp'ring, Natu
25 No. 8. Ya prishyol k tebe s privetom (Greeting)
26 Epitafiya (Epitaph), Op. 13, No. 2
27 Zimniy vecher (Winter Evening), Op. 13, No. 1
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Complete Songs, Vol. 1 - Incantation, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


119 kr
Medtner, Nikolai - Angel - Complete Songs, Vol. 3 - Levental, Ekaterina
119 kr
Medtner, Nikolay - Complete Songs, Vol. 2 - Sleeplessness - Levental, Ekaterina
169 kr
Medtner, Nikolay - PIANO WORKS VOL No. 5 - Tozer, Geoffrey (piano)
169 kr
Medtner, Nikolay - PIANO WORKS VOL No. 6 - Tozer, Geoffrey (piano)
Medtner, Nikolay - COMPLETE PIANO SONATAS (4CD) - Tozer, Geoffrey (piano) CHAN9723 2006-09-01 699 kr
Medtner, Nikolay - Piano Works Vol 7 - Tozer, Geoffrey (piano) CHAN9899 2006-09-01 169 kr
Medtner, Nikolay - Complete Piano Sonatas (4 CD) - Hamelin, Marc-André (piano) CDA67221 2005-04-16 519 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Medtner, Nikolay - Three Piano Concertos - Madge, Geoffrey Douglas (piano) BIS1258 2001-07-15 169 kr
Ej i lager
Medtner, Nikolay - Piano Sonatas Opp. 22 & 25 - Fellegi, Adam (piano) 8223371 1991-01-01 159 kr
Medtner, Nikolay - Sonata-Ballada / Sonata Reminiscenza / Sonata Tragica / Sonata-Idylle - Fellegi, Adam (piano) 8223372 1991-01-01 159 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar