Concert in Athens - Karaindrou, Eleni

Köp + Lägg till önskelista + 135 kr (169 kr) - Fåtal i lager

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Kim Kashkashian: viola; Jan Garbarek: tenor saxophone; Vangelis Christopoulos: oboe Eleni Karaindrou: piano; Sergiu Nastasa: violin; Renato Ripo: violoncello; Stella Gadedi: flute; Marie-Cécile Boulard: clarinet; Sonia Pisk: bassoon; Vangelis Skouras: french horn; Socratis Anthis: trumpet; Maria Bildea: harp; Dinos Hadjiiordanou: accordion; Aris Dimitriades: mandolin:Camerata Friends of Music Orchestra, conducted by Alexandros Myrat.

"Each of my compositions seems to be part of a mosaic which takes on its ultimate form very slowly through the years", Eleni Karaindrou once said, and the larger picture becomes both clearer and more finely-detailed with each new album. "Concert in Athens" is her tenth release on ECM. It is an exceptional documentation of a performance from 2010, marking a triumphant return to the Athens Concert Hall, the setting for the "Elegy of the Uprooting" shows five years earlier.

A new programme offers new insights, particularly when participating friends include guest soloists Jan Garbarek and Kim Kashkashian, both of whom have made major contributions to the realization of Karaindrou's work in the past - Garbarek with his evocative playing of the themes for The Beekeeper (reprised on the album "Music for Films") and Karaindrou as the key musical protagonist of Ulysses' Gaze. Over the years both artists have periodically returned to join Eleni for special events. Ulysses' Gaze and Beekeeper themes are reprised here, along with music from other films of the late Theo Angelopoulos - Dust of Time, Eternity and a day, Landscape in the Mist and Journey to Cythera, all of them revealing new facets as Kashkashian and Garbarek are featured alongside Eleni's team of soloists (with oboist Vangelis Christopoloulos especially striking). There is also much here that is new or heard on CD for the first time including compositions originally written for theatre productions directed by Antonis Antypas including Who's afraid of Virginia Woolf? by Edward Albee, The Glass Menagerie by Tennessee Williams as well as Jules Dassin's production of Arthur Miller's Death of a Salesman. The differing demands of the theatre music open up a new emotional range for the soloists to explore. Eleni: "I sought to share with them memories from past and more recent voyages in the worlds of theatre and poetry. With Jan I plunged deep into the fascination and torment of Arthur Miller, of Edward Albee and Tennessee Williams..." The album opens and closes with Garbarek's intensely brooding saxophone, accompanied by Karaindrou's piano and the string orchestra, playing the "Requiem for Willie Loman" from Death of a Salesman. Meanwhile, "Kim's sturdy and sensitive bow swept us on a journey to Laura's fragile world in The Glass Menagerie, having first traversed the Closed Roads [one of several newly-arranged pieces of Karaindrou concert music] with all the passion and unmatched internal nobility which distinguish her work." The scope of the music is further expanded with three charming miniatures inspired by M. Karagatsis' novel "Number Ten", and written for the Greek television series of the same name.

Artikelnummer ECM2220
Streckkod 0028947649847
Utgivningsdatum 2013-02-13
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag ECM
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Kompositörer Karaindrou, Eleni
Disk: 1
1 Requiem for Willy Loman
2 Eternity Theme
3 Closed Roads
4 Waiting
5 Voyage
6 Invocation
7 Tango of Love
8 Tom's Theme
9 Laura's Waltz
10 Adagio
11 After Memory
12 Farewell Theme
13 Seeking Theme
14 Nostalgia Song
15 Waltz of the Rain
16 Adagio for Saxophone
17 Dance
18 Requiem for Willy Loman, var.
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Concert in Athens, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


135 kr (169 kr)
Karaindrou, Eleni - Tous des oiseaux
135 kr (169 kr)
Jarrett, Keith (piano) - Bridge of Light - Jarrett, Keith
135 kr (169 kr)
Shostakovich, Dmitry - Viola Sonata - Kashkashian, Kim (viola)
143 kr (179 kr)
Pärt, Arvo - Miserere - Hilliard Ensemble (The)
Pärt, Arvo - Passio - Hilliard Ensemble (The) ECM1370 1988-10-01 135 kr (169 kr)
Pärt, Arvo - Arbos - Hilliard Ensemble (The) ECM1325 1987-05-01 135 kr (169 kr)
Pärt, Arvo - Tabula Rasa - Kremer/Jarrett ECM1275 1984-09-01 135 kr (169 kr)
Reich, Steve - Octet / Music For Large Ensemble / Violin Phase ECM1168 1980-09-01 135 kr (169 kr)
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Reich, Steve - Music for 18 Musicians ECM1129 1978-04-01 135 kr (169 kr)
Garbarek, Jan (saxophone) - Luminessence ECM1049 1975-03-01 135 kr (169 kr)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar