Confessions - Stricking, Laura

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Soprano Laura Strickling writes: “Song serves as one of the most important building blocks of western civilization. “The Bard” in the Ancient Greek world sang Homer’s epic poems for small groups of people, probably accompanied by a simple stringed instrument like a lyre. All of our best research indicates that the Sumerian Gilgamesh Epic, give or take 1,000 years earlier than Homer’s Iliad, was also likely sung, not recited. Like the contemporary songs on this album, these ancient texts shared material that was intensely personal and timelessly universal – detailing the inner world of the protagonist, revealing hopes, insecurities, fear, and longing… When a composer sets beautiful and important words to music, we hear, understand, and internalize them in a different way than we do when we read them or hear these words as speech. In the course of any recital the audience learns something about who I am as a singer, but also who I am as a person – what I believe, what moves me, my insecurities, my struggles, my fears, my hopes, what makes me happy. Connection and communication are essential to the human experience, especially right now. In opera there are costumes, cast, orchestra, conductor, elaborate sets, staging, and blinding spotlights. The composer, librettist and director determine the narrative and the cast shows the story to the audience. But in a song recital, singer and pianist share a narrative they craft through their repertoire choices and offer this narrative directly to the other people sharing their space in a concert hall, or in a room listening to a recording like this one. Song requires a commitment to honest interpersonal communication and invites an audience to participate in a group intimacy people tend to avoid these days. It is far easier to hide at home behind our technological devices…”
Artikelnummer YAR18798
Streckkod 0195448187984
Utgivningsdatum 2020-11-20
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Yarlung
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Stricking, Laura
Schreier, Joy
Disk: 1
1 What Will They Think?
2 Fixation
3 Turn Back the Clock
4 Eve’s Lament
5 Deirdre’s Lament
6 Hymn to the Archangel Michael
7 A Mother’s Lament
8 An Even-song
9 Why I Wear My Hair Long
10 Saying Goodbye
11 The Pocketbook
12 How to Get Heat Without Fire
13 I Would Live in Your Love
14 Absence
15 To See What I See
16 Spring Rain
17 Righty, 1966
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Confessions, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Symmetria Pario - Chalifour, Martin
159 kr
O’Regan, Tarik - All Things Common - Pacific Chorale
189 kr
Lysy, Antonio - South America - Various
189 kr
The Cal State Fullerton University Singers - Nostos - Various
Yarlung Records: 10th Anniv. - Various Artists YAR42482 2015-05-27 189 kr
Armstrong, Nigel - Works for Violin YAR65007 2014-09-10 189 kr
Mahler, Gustav - Symphony No. 5 - The Colburn Orchestra YAR41014 2014-08-27 189 kr
Ciaramella - Music from the Court of Burgundy YAR96819 2013-08-14 189 kr
Zeisl, Eric - Orchestral Works - Stulberg, Neal YAR96820 2013-08-14 189 kr
First Seven Years YAR96821 2013-06-12 189 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar