Charpentier, M-A - David & Jonathas - Christie, William

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
David & Jonathas
Tragédie en musique, Libretto: Père François de Paule Bretonneau

Les Arts Florissants
William Christie
direction: Andreas Homoki
Scenography: Paul Zoller
Costumes: Gideon Davey
Lighting: Franck Evin

The rare biblical opera 'David and Jonathas' is like 'Médée', one of the major works of the French Baroque composer Marc-Antoine Charpentier. The opera has been in the repertoire of Les Arts Florissants since 1988 and was first presented in a stage production by William Christie at the Aix-en-Provence Festival 2012. This DVD release is a special event for all Baroque music lovers.
Written a year after the death of Lully, this lyric tragedy allows Charpentier to develop beyond the religious dimension, a story of male friendship and forbidden love between David and Jonathas.
An excellent cast gathered around William Christie and Les Arts Florissants brings young singers to the title roles: Pascal Charbonneau, a tenor and a former student of the European Academy of Music, sings David. The role of Jonathas is given to a woman: soprano Ana Quintans.

The staging by Andreas Homoki (Director of the Zurich Opera since summer 2012) focuses on the psychological aspect of this forbidden love story, giving a moving reading of the drama.

Press Reviews
"Paris-based Les Arts Florissants have an admirable capacity for boldly reimagining the Baroque for the modern day, as their adaptation of David et Jonathas shows" The Telegraph

"Conductor William Christie brings the score dazzlingly to life... through buoyant, tripletime dances and aching laments." The Guardian

Artikelnummer BAC093
Streckkod 3760115300934
Utgivningsdatum 2013-05-29
Kategori Opera
Skivbolag Bel Air
Enhet DVD
Antal enheter 1
Dirigenter Christie, William
Kompositörer Charpentier, M-A
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om David & Jonathas, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


299 kr
Prokofiev, Sergey - Love for Three Oranges, The - Sokhiev, Tugan (conductor)
299 kr
Mozart, W A - Entführung aus dem serail, Die - Minkowski, Marc (conductor)
299 kr
Mozart, W A - Don Giovanni - Mattei, Peter (baritone)
299 kr
Hindemith, Paul - Cardillac - Nagano, Kent (conductor)
Verdi, Giuseppe - Aida - Stemme, Nina BAC022 2007-05-14 379 kr
Verdi, Giuseppe - Traviata, La - Sado, Yutaka BAC205 2007-04-16 299 kr
Mozart, W A - Figaros bröllop - Jacobs, René (conductor) BAC017 2006-11-06 299 kr
Hercules - Handel, G F - Ernman, Malena (mezzo-soprano) BAC013 2006-01-23 419 kr
Britten, Benjamin - Turn of the Screw, The - Harding, Daniel BAC008 2005-07-04 299 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Monteverdi, Claudio - L'Incoronazione di Poppea - Otter, Anne Sofie von (mezzo-soprano) BAC004 2005-03-28 299 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar