Gibbs, Cecil Armstrong - Discover The Songs of C. Armstrong Gibbs - Charlotte de, Rothschild

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
The present release features a selection of Cecil Armstrong Gibbs’ songs taken from the 4-album set also released by Lyrita. Cecil Armstrong Gibbs (he disliked the name Cecil so was known as Armstrong) was a prolific and versatile composer of the first half of the twentieth century. He studied under Sir Adrian Boult and Ralph Vaughan Williams. His contemporaries were Herbert Howells, Sir Arthur Bliss and Sir Arnold Bax. Known principally for his solo songs Gibbs also wrote music for the stage, sacred works, three symphonies and a substantial amount of chamber music. He gained wide recognition during the early part of his life. He continued to compose and conduct up until his death in May 1960. Putting this project together we were surprised by both the quantity and consistent quality of Gibbs’ output. The popular songs fully deserve their treasured position, but now we could easily match them with a new selection – To Anise, The Cherry Tree, On Duncton Hill, The Tiger-Lily, Midnight, Slow Horses Slow, The Exile and Take Heed Young Heart might be concert winners given a chance. In them we find the same simplicity and sensitivity to text. It has been remarked more than once that performers will find the best songs among the settings of de la Mare, this rather easy simplification holds less well when, as in this collection, we can assess Armstrong Gibbs output in a more complete form.
Artikelnummer SRCD404
Streckkod 5020926040428
Utgivningsdatum 2022-03-04
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Lyrita
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Charlotte de, Rothschild
Vale, Nathan
Farmer, Adrian
Kompositörer Gibbs, Cecil Armstrong
Disk: 1
Peacock Pie
1 Five Eyes
2 John Mouldy
Peacock Pie
3 Dream Song
4 To Anise
Peacock Pie
5 Silver
6 The Ballad of Semmerwater
7 On Duncton Hill
8 Hypochondriacus
9 The Witch
10 Lament for Robin Hood
Peacock Pie
11 I. The Stranger
12 Ii. The Linnet
13 Iii. The Mountains
14 Iv. Love in the Almond Bough
15 V. The Bells
16 The Exile
17 The Flooded Stream
18 Midnight
19 Evening in Summer
20 By a Bier-side
21 The Tiger-lily
22 Slow, Horses, Slow
23 The Fields are Full
24 Take Heed, Young Heart
Peacock Pie
25 The Barber's
26 Miss T.
27 Old Shellover
28 Hide and Seek
29 Then
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Discover The Songs of C. Armstrong Gibbs, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Various - 100 Years of Japanese Song - Japanese Journey, Vol. 3 - Charlotte de, Rothschild
359 kr
Gibbs, Cecil Armstrong - The Songs of C. Armstrong Gibbs (4CD) - Charlotte de, Rothschild
159 kr
Quilter, Roger - The Songs of Roger Quilter, Vol. 3 - Charlotte de, Rothschild
369 kr
Richardson, Alan - The Piano Music of Alan Richardson (5 CD) - Jones, Martin
The Songs of Miriam Hyde - Charlotte de, Rothschild - Hyde, Miriam SRCD378 2019-01-04 159 kr
Scott, Cyril - The Songs of Cyril Scott - Charlotte de, Rothschild SRCD365 2018-05-04 159 kr
Quilter, Roger - The Songs of Roger Quilter Vol. 2 - Vale, Nathan NI5969 2018-03-02 159 kr
Charlotte de, Rothschild - Furusato: A Japanese Journey Vol.2 - Various NI6357 2018-01-12 159 kr
Peterkin, Norman - The Songs of Norman Peterkin - Charlotte de, Rothschild SRCD362 2017-05-05 159 kr
Nicolai Malko conducts the BBC SO - Malko, Nicolai REAM2120 2016-01-15 219 kr
Ej i lager
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar