Dutch Delight - Havinga, Matthias

Lägg till önskelista + 119 kr - Utgången

This attractive collection brings together organ music from the Dutch Golden Age; a period of great prosperity and power for the Republic of the Netherlands. During this era culture blossomed, with art, particularly painting and music, reaching a hitherto unknown level of refinement as exemplified in the works of Rembrandt and Sweelinck, among others. Cities of the Republic were centers of power, and the position of city organist was one of great prestige, as he was essentially responsible for coordinating local musical culture. His musical adaptability led him to compose in all manner of forms, as can be heard on this release which effectively offers a postcard from the Dutch Golden Age through its variety of compositions: psalm arrangements, fantasias, dances and secular songs. As arguably the greatest Dutch composer of all time, Jan Pieterszoon Sweelincks music is a particularly prominent feature of the disc. Of his contrasting variation sets, many were based on secular songs (whose subjects range widely): More Palatino is a bawdy drinking song and Mein junges Leben hat ein End a melancholic melody in the vanitas style, linking closely to popular themes in paintings of the time. Of the musical psalm settings for the organ, which were used to accompany the singing of a massed congregation and also performed during public concerts while people wandered through the church in great numbers, Anthoni van Noordts setting of Psalm 24 is particularly notable, beginning soberly, featuring an adventurous, expressive second variation, and ending grandly with the melody in the pedal.The Faber/Blank organ of the Jacobuskerk, Zeerijp, is well suited to the repertoire; dating from 1651, it was reconstructed to its original condition in 1979. In the hands of Matthias Havinga, who has won prizes at various international organ competitions and performed extensively in many European countries and in the USA, it is essential in recreating the sound world of the music as closely as possible. This is Havingas third release for Brilliant Classics, following successful recordings of J.S. Bachs Italian Concertos (transcribed for the organ) (BC94203) and Passacaglia (BC9269).
Artikelnummer 95093
Streckkod 5028421950938
Utgivningsdatum 2015-02-25
Kategori Orgel
Skivbolag Brilliant Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Havinga, Matthias
Disk: 1
1 anon.: Wilhelmus XIV - Almande prynce
2 anon.: Daphne
3 anon.: De frans galliard
4 anon.: Serbande XXXVI
5 anon.: Almande Brun Smeedelyn
6 Havingha: Ouverture Octava: Vivace
7 Noordt, A: Psalm 24
8 Schuyt, C: Padovana del decimo modo
9 Schuyt, C: Gagliarda
10 Speuy: Psalm 118 'Dancket den Heer seer hoogh' ghe
11 Sweelinck: Fantasia Chromatica a 4 in D minor, SwW
12 Sweelinck: Almande Gratie, SwWV318/N7 'More Palati
13 Sweelinck: Mein junges Leben hat ein End - variati
14 Sweelinck: Ballo del Granduca
15 Sweelinck: Psalm 36 C8
16 Sweelinck: Malle Sijmen
17 Sweelinck: Fantasia a 3 in G minor, SwWV271
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Dutch Delight, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


119 kr
Handel, G F - Romantic Organ Transcriptions - Gabba, Massimo (organ)
119 kr
Pasquini, Bernardo - Sonatas for Two Organs - Scandali, Luca / Jourdan, Hadrien
119 kr
Bach Family - Bach Family Organ Music - Militello, Sergio (organ)
129 kr
Bach, J S - Leipziger Choräle - Tomadin, Manuel
Böhm, Georg - 4CD-BOX: Complete Harpsichord and Organ Music - Stella, Simone 94612 2012-12-05 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Bach, J S - Schübler Chorales, Preludes and Fugues for Organ - Messori, Matteo 94380 2012-10-24 129 kr
Buxtehude, Dietrich - 6CD-BOX: Complete Organ Music - Stella, Simone 94422 2012-10-10 249 kr
Franck, César - Complete Organ Music - Falcioni, Adriano (organ) 94349 2012-06-26 129 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Havinga, Matthias - Passacaglias 9269 2012-06-05 119 kr
Bach, J S - Italian Concertos - Havinga, Matthias 94203 2011-02-03 119 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar