Monteverdi, Claudio - Easter Celebration at St. Mark’s in Venice 1600 - Bardazzi, Federico

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Any listener who has heard the punchy, rousing and original account of Monteverdi’s Vespers released in 2016 by these forces on Brilliant Classics (BC95188) will be keen to hear music from the same source performed with similar vitality and attention to historical detail. Federico Bardazzi duly obliges with this recreation of Easter at the Basilica San Marco, around the year 1600. Chants alternate with spectacular, antiphonal toccatas and canzonas which bounce off the walls of the generous church acoustic, as well as a slight but still exuberant sonata by Giovanni Paolo Cima. Enclosed within are the separate movements of the four-part Mass by Monteverdi, and the liturgical reconstruction concludes with a setting ofthe Ave maris stella which, like the Mass, is to be found in Monteverdi’s collection of Selva morale e spirituale, no less treasurable in its way than the better-known Vespers compilation. Indeed the Selva morale dates from several decades later in Monteverdi’s output and reflects an even greater harmonic refinement: the linear polyphony of the Mass obeys the rules of the stile antico, while the psalm settings and hymns such as Laudate Dominum and Cantate Domino belong to the more sectional and vividly illustrative style of the seconda pratica which became particularly associated in his work and that of his successors with the secular madrigal. In his booklet note, Bardazzi notes that Monteverdi would have expected to perform this music with a mixed-voice choir; the male-only ensemble is a late-19th-century practice. His lively tempi and instrumental arrangements, switching between basso continuo and colla parte instruments, are intended ‘to allow Monteverdi’s creative genius and originality to permeate the strict counterpoint.’ This recording presents a reconstruction of the Easter Celebration at St. Mark’s, Venice, around 1600. The Proprium Mass (the part of the mass which is related to the liturgical year) is from the beautiful Gradulae Giunta (Venice, 1572), the Missa Ordinarium (the standard Mass which is always the same) is by Monteverdi, from his Selva Morale e Spirituale. The performance by the Ensemble San Felice and conductor Federico Bardazzi is festive and jublilant, supported by a rich instrumentarium of flute, trombone, theorbo, harpsichord, organ and percussion. The ensemble San Felice already recorded the Monteverdi Vespers, Vocal Music by Hildegard von Bingen and El Cant de la Sibilla.
Artikelnummer 95747
Streckkod 5028421957470
Utgivningsdatum 2018-04-27
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Brilliant Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Dirigenter Bardazzi, Federico
Ensembler Capriccio Armonico
Ensemble San Felice
Kompositörer Monteverdi, Claudio
Gabrieli, Giovanni
Disk: 1
1 Toccata im 2. Ton
2 Introitus: Resurrexi et adhuc tecum sum
3 Kyrie
4 Gloria
5 Graduale: Haec dies es quam fecit Dominus
6 Canzon Nr. 2 a 4
7 Laudate Dominum
8 Alleluia: Pascha nistrum immolatus est Christus
9 Sequentia: Victimae Paschali laudes
10 Cantate Domino
11 Credo
12 Sonata a 3
13 Offertorium: Terra tremuit
14 Canzon Nr. 1 "La spiritata"
15 Sanctus
16 Ricercar im 9. Ton
17 Agnus Dei
18 Communio: Pascha nostrum immolatus est Christus
19 Canzon Nr. 3 a 4
20 Ave maris stella
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Easter Celebration at St. Mark’s in Venice 1600, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


89 kr
Various - The Monteverdi Organ - Koetsveld, Krijn / Le Nuove Musiche
419 kr
Monteverdi, Claudio - Complete Madrigals (12 CD) - Koetsveld, Krijn
119 kr
Monteverdi, Claudio - Madrigali Libri V & VI (2CD) - Koetsveld, Krijn / Le Nuove Musiche
89 kr
Monteverdi, Claudio - Madrigali Book IX
Monteverdi, Claudio - Vespro della beata Vergine - Bardazzi, Federico 95188 2016-07-29 109 kr
Ej i lager
Monteverdi, Claudio - Tasso Madrigals - Concerto Italiano 93811 2011-11-17 89 kr
Ej i lager
Monteverdi, Claudio - Vespro Della Beata Vergine - Fasolis, Diego 94252 2011-10-26 109 kr
Ej i lager
Monteverdi, Claudio - Madrigals, Book 5 - Concerto Italiano OPS30445 2007-04-30 149 kr
Gabrieli, Giovanni - Sonate e Canzoni - Concerto Palatino HMA1951688 2007-01-31 89 kr
Monteverdi, Claudio - Selva morale - Christie, William HMA1951250 2003-05-26 89 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar