Alwyn, William - Elizabethan Dances / Oboe Concerto / Aphrodite in Aulis - Lloyd-Jones, David (conductor)

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
• This fifth volume in the Naxos cycle of the complete orchestral works of William Alwyn features the popular Elizabethan Dances, which contrast ancient and modern dance rhythms from the courts of Elizabeth I and Elizabeth II. Composed during World War II, the Oboe Concerto expresses the composer’s yearning for the peace and beauty of the English countryside. The atmospheric Symphonic Prelude “The Magic Island” was inspired by Shakespeare’s The Tempest.

• A perfect evocation of Spring, The Innumerable Dance is a tone poem in all but name. This and the exquisite miniature Aphrodite in Aulis have not been heard in concert for over 70 years, and here receive their world première recording.

• Previous praise for the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and David Lloyd-Jones performing the Naxos cycle of the complete orchestral works of William Alwyn: “This is a superb recording and yet another feather in the cap of Naxos, the RLPO and Lloyd-Jones.” Classic fm Magazine on Naxos 8.557648

Jonathan Small (oboe), Eleanor Hudson (harp)
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/David Lloyd-Jones
William Alwyn

Elizabethan Dances

1. No. 1. Moderato e ritmico

2. No. 2. Waltz tempo - languidamente

3. No. 3. Allegro scherzando (ma non troppo allegro)

4. No. 4. Moderato

5. No. 5. Poco allegretto e semplice

6. No. 6. Allegro giocoso

7. The Innumerable Dance - An English Overture

Concerto for Oboe, Harp and Strings

8. I. Andante e rubato

9. II. Vivace

10. Aphrodite in Aulis - An Eclogue for small orchestra after George Moore

11. The Magic Island

12. Festival March
Artikelnummer 8570144
Streckkod 0747313014477
Utgivningsdatum 2006-12-27
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Naxos
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Lloyd-Jones, David (conductor)
Dirigenter Lloyd-Jones, David
Kompositörer Alwyn, William
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Elizabethan Dances / Oboe Concerto / Aphrodite in Aulis, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


119 kr
Alwyn, William - Orchestral Music: Concerto Grosso No. 1 / Pastoral Fantasia / Autumn Legend) - Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
119 kr
Stanford, C V - Symphonies Nos. 2 & 5 - Lloyd-Jones, David (conductor)
119 kr
Gardner, John - Symphony No. 1 / Piano Concerto No. 1 - Lloyd-Jones, David (conductor)
119 kr
Stanford, C V - Symphonies Nos. 4 & 7 - Lloyd-Jones, David (conductor)
Alwyn, William - Symphony No. 4 / Sinfonietta - Lloyd-Jones, David (conductor) 8557649 2006-03-01 119 kr
Alwyn, William - Symphonies Nos. 1 & 3 - Lloyd-Jones, David (conductor) 8557648 2006-01-01 119 kr
Vaughan Williams, Ralph - Willow-Wood (Orchestral Songs) - Lloyd-Jones, David (conductor) 8557798 2005-12-01 119 kr
Dyson, George - Symphony in G Major / Concerto de chiesa - Lloyd-Jones, David (conductor) 8557720 2005-07-01 119 kr
Rawsthorne, Alan - Symphonies Nos. 1-3 - Lloyd-Jones, David (conductor) 8557480 2005-03-01 119 kr
Moeran, E J - Symphony in G minor / Sinfonietta - Lloyd-Jones, David (conductor) 8555837 2002-08-12 119 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar