Encores And Transcriptions, Vol. 5 - Casals, Pablo (cello)

Köp + Lägg till önskelista + 119 kr - Fåtal i lager

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
• Pablo Casals was one of the greatest and by far the best-known cellist of his generation, whose playing was remarkable both for a superb sense of rhythm and a wonderful parlando quality.

• This disc of his complete 78rpm acoustic recordings, which cover the period 1916-1924, includes a handful of original compositions, notably the popular Gavotte by the great Bohemian cellist David Popper, and Bruch’s Kol Nidrei.

• The rest of them are transcriptions or arrangements, including the beautiful version of MacDowell’s famous piano piece ‘To a Wild Rose’, from Woodland Sketches, which Casals makes his own.

“The Rubinstein/Popper represents the salon side of Casals, very Romantic, with the cellist clearly enjoying himself – and enjoyment that flies across the years and into our living rooms. And really, the Liszt Liebestraum is brought into this arena. It is just Casals’ sort of thing. He reaches the stratosphere around 2’25 in, and yet is infinitely agile up there. Liszt, surely, must be smiling somewhere.”
(MusicWeb on Vol. 4)

Pablo Casals, cello
Pablo Casals - Encores and Transcriptions, Vol. 5

Fryderyk Chopin

1. Nocturne No. 2 in E flat major, Op. 9, No. 2 (arr. Popper for cello and piano)

Frederick Nicolls Crouch

2. Kathleen Mavourneen (arr. for cello and orchestra)

Thomas Moore

3. Believe Me if All Those Endearing Young Charms (arr. for cello and orchestra)

Edward Elgar

4. Salut d'amour, Op. 12


5. Would God I were the Tender Apple Blossom, "Londonderry Air"

David Popper

6. Gavotte in D major, Op. 23

Anton Rubinstein

7. Romance in E flat major, Op. 44, No. 1

Edward MacDowell

8. Woodland Sketches, Op. 51: No. 1: To a Wild Rose (arr. for cello and piano)

Giovanni Sgambati

9. Serenata napoletana, Op. 24, No. 2

Theresa Del Riego

10. Oh, Dry Those Tears

Max Bruch

11. Kol nidrei, Op. 47

Alexander Glazunov

12. Two morceaux, Op. 20: No. 1. Melodie arabe (arr. for cello and piano)

Franz Joseph Haydn

13. Cello Concerto in D major, Hob.VIIb:2: II. Adagio (arr. for cello and piano)

Felix Mendelssohn

14. Lieder ohne Worte (Songs without Words), Book 6, Op. 67: No. 6. Wiegenlied (Cradle Song) (arr. cello and piano)

Johannes Brahms

15. Fünf Lieder, Op. 94: No. 4: Sapphische Ode (arr. for cello and piano)

Pyotr Tchaikovsky

16. Souvenir d’un lieu cher, Op. 42: No. 3. Melodie in E flat major (arr. cello and piano)

George Frideric Handel

17. Berenice, HWV 38, Overture: Minuet

Pyotr Tchaikovsky

18. Les Saisons (The Seasons), Op. 37b: No. 10. October: Autumn Song (arr. for cello and piano)

Cesar Cui

19. Suite Miniature No. 1, Op. 20: V. Berceuse (arr. for cello and piano)

Johann Sebastian Bach

20. Toccata, Adagio and Fugue in C major, BWV 564: Adagio (arr. Siloti for cello and piano)

Enrique Granados

21. Goyescas: Intermezzo (arr. for cello and piano)
Artikelnummer 8110987
Streckkod 0636943198728
Utgivningsdatum 2007-05-21
Kategori Cello
Skivbolag Naxos / Historical
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Casals, Pablo (cello)
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Encores And Transcriptions, Vol. 5, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


60 kr (119 kr)
Beethoven, Ludwig van - Symphonies Nos. 1 & 4 - Casals, Pablo (cello)
169 kr
Atterberg, Kurt - Cello Concerto - Mørk, Truls (cello)
169 kr
Schoeck, Othmar - Christian Poltéra plays Othmar Schoeck - Ollila, Tuomas
60 kr (119 kr)
Saint-Saëns/Schumann - Cello Concertons - Piatigorsky, Gregor
Boccherini/Haydn/Elgar - Cello Concertos - Casals, Pablo (cello) 8110305 2005-10-01 119 kr
Encores And Transcriptions, Vol. 4 - Casals, Pablo (cello) 8110986 2005-05-01 60 kr (119 kr)
Encores And Transcriptions, Vol. 3 - Casals, Pablo (cello) 8110985 2004-09-01 119 kr
Encores And Transcriptions, Vol. 2 - Casals, Pablo (cello) 8110976 2004-04-01 60 kr (119 kr)
Encores And Transcriptions, Vol. 1 - Casals, Pablo (cello) 8110972 2003-04-01 119 kr
Bach, J S - Cello Suites Nos. 1-6 - Casals, Pablo (cello) 8110915-16 2000-11-25 219 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar