Vasks, Peteris - Episodi - Ad Astra

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Episodi is a debut release by the well-established AdAstra Piano Trio ensemble, spanning a diverse selection of 20th-century American and Easter European compositions. The choice of works to be included was by no means fortuitous, and each of the recorded pieces carries a deep personal meaning to the artists. The music material creates a space where moods fluctuate between the extremes of high-pitched drama and humorous lightness, a realm that scintillates with a fantastic array of colors, emotions, and unconventional means of expression, whose refreshing forms are far from what could be considered a classical approach to this genre of music. Undeniably, it is this complexity and versatility — resulting, among other things, from the composers’ distant geographical backgrounds — that underlie the choice of repertoire for the album, and whose vivid presentation became not only the greatest challenge for the musicians, but also their shared artistic goal. The selection contains one of the world’s few existing recordings of two outstanding works: Trio in 9 short movements by Henry Cowell and Episodi e Canto perpetuo by Peter Vasks, which represent the focal point of the album’s concept. Both the American, known for his inclination to experimenting, and the internationally recognized Latvian, structure their compositions in ways that contrast significantly with the classical sonata form, prevalent in the piano-trio literature. Cowell and Vasks tap into the full expressive and technical potential of the three traditional instruments — the former by focusing on the contrapuntal activity within the dodecaphonic, tonal and polytonal harmonic frameworks, and the latter by oscillating between modal, sonoric, and aleatoric techniques. The enormous emotional charge and dark tone of Vask’s composition, alongside Cowell’s lapidary style, contrapuntal skills and reflectiveness stand in distinct contrast to the remaining pieces on the record. The other two compositions are clearly lighter in character. Café Music by Paul Schoenfield, which was inspired by the ambiance of the iconic Murray's steakhouse in Minneapolis, is a playfully arranged stylization of early jazz forms and traditional Hasidic dance music, while the grotesque miniatures Three funny pieces by Rodion Shchedrin reassert the reputation of the composer as the master of pastiche and parody. These works balance the graveness and solemnity of the antecedent pieces, allow a pause for breath, provide necessary distance, or even amuse the audience, at the same time remaining the finest gems of their kind, whose overall compositional value is truly beyond measure.
Artikelnummer ACD231
Streckkod 5902176502317
Utgivningsdatum 2017-04-21
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag CD Accord
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Ad Astra
Kompositörer Vasks, Peteris
Cowell, Henry
Shchedrin, Rodion
Disk: 1
1 Episodi e Canto perpetuo
2 Episodi e Canto perpetuo
3 Episodi e Canto perpetuo
4 Episodi e Canto perpetuo
5 Episodi e Canto perpetuo
6 Episodi e Canto perpetuo
7 Episodi e Canto perpetuo
8 Episodi e Canto perpetuo
9 Trio in 9 short movements HC 941
10 Trio in Nine Short Movements HC 941
11 Trio in Nine Short Movements HC 941
12 Trio in Nine Short Movements HC 941
13 Trio in Nine Short Movements HC 941
14 Trio in Nine Short Movements HC 941
15 Trio in Nine Short Movements HC 941
16 Trio in Nine Short Movements HC 941
17 Trio in Nine Short Movements HC 941
18 Three Funny Pieces
19 Three Funny Pieces
20 Three Funny Pieces
21 Café Music
22 Café Music
23 Café Music
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Episodi, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Beethoven, Ludwig van - Sonatas Op. 5, Variations WoO 45 - Thiel, Jaroslaw
159 kr
Gems of Eastern Europe - Tarcholik, Piotr - Bartók, Béla
159 kr
Weinberg, Mieczyslaw - String Quartet No. 7 & Piano Quintet - Silesian Quartet
159 kr
Dvarionas, Balys - Baltic & Beyond - Koornhof, Piet
Mielczewski, Marcin - Marcin Mielczewski - Wroclaw Baroque Ensemble ACD227 2017-02-03 159 kr
Swider, Jozef - Music for Wind Instruments ACD228 2017-01-20 159 kr
Szymczewska, Agata - Modern Soul ACD223 2016-11-11 159 kr
Vasks, Peteris - Vasks & Brahms: Piano Quartets - Et Arsis SM248 2016-11-11 159 kr
Shchedrin, Rodion - The Left-Hander (BD) - Gergiev, Valery MAR0588 2016-08-12 299 kr
Pekiel, Bartlomiej - Bartlomiej Pekiel - Various ACD222 2016-07-08 159 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar