Chopin, Frédéric - Etudes - Katz, Amir

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Vladimir Horowitz’s admissions about the twelve Etudes op. 10 and the twelve of op. 25 by Frédéric Chopin, all of which he found dreadful, or to be precise, dreadfully difficult, are both revealing and disarmingly frank: “For me, the most difficult is the one in C major, op. 10/1. I cannot play it, and the other one in C, op. 10/7, is no better. And I can’t really play the one in A minor op. 10/2 properly.” – Even if his outspoken confessions contain more of a degree of playfulness than some similar statements made by the famous Chopin performer Arthur Rubinstein, it is indeed the case that well into the 1970s the Chopin Etudes were deemed so technically difficult that it was the norm for any pianist not to play them all in public or record them in one go, but to play them one at a time like Horowitz and Rubinstein. That said, the musical ranking of the individual works has always been a matter of controversy. The fact that the complete recordings by the few pianists whose names are still familiar – Backhaus, Cortot, Arrau – are from artists who all share an interpretational style and choice of repertoire that is decidedly serious in approach could be an indication that these exponents, who after all had the necessary technical skills at their fingertips, were also concerned with the great musical context. Times have changed since then, however, and the technical standard expected today of a young pianist has risen relentlessly, while at the same time much has happened in the musical sphere when it comes to Chopin interpretation. Today, all of the Polish genius’s works have increasingly come to the fore for their uniqueness and their unsurpassed quality, with the result that more and more pianists are daring to tackle the fearsome 24 Etudes – at least in the studio. In preparation for the studio recording, Amir Katz sought audience approval by performing the works frequently and to acclaim in concert. As with previous projects, he wanted to take a holistic approach to the pieces, beginning with the famous “bracket effect” of the first and last pieces in C major and C minor, both of them closely related to the first two pieces of Bach’s “Well-tempered Clavier” and to the last etude that then modulates back to C major – which ultimately brings the work full circle in terms of tonality. What is more, in his assiduous study of the sources on early performance practice, Amir Katz has found divergence in the earlier (faster) original tempi, especially in the slower movements, and exact tempo correspondences between various pieces. Finally, the young virtuoso proves his credentials in these masterworks with a flawless clarity that is more than equal to its stylistically refined, artistically “simplified” neo-Baroque echoes.
Artikelnummer C922171A
Streckkod 4011790922126
Utgivningsdatum 2017-06-02
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Orfeo
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Katz, Amir
Kompositörer Chopin, Frédéric
Disk: 1
1 No. 1 C-Dur. Allegro
2 No. 2 a-Moll. Allegro
3 No. 3 E-Dur. Lento ma non troppo
4 No. 4 cis-Moll. Presto, con fuoco
5 No. 5 Ges-Dur. Vivace
6 No. 6 es-Moll. Andante
7 Études op. 10: No. 7 C-Dur. Vivace
8 No. 8 F-Dur. Allegro
9 Études op. 10: No. 9 f-Moll. Allegro molto agitato
10 Études op. 10: No. 10 As-Dur. Vivace assai
11 Études op. 10: No. 11 Es-Dur. Allegretto
12 Études op. 10: No. 12 c-Moll. Allegro con fuoco
13 Études op. 25: No. 1 As-Dur. Allegro sostenuto
14 Études op. 25: No. 2 f-Moll. Presto
15 Études op. 25: No. 3 F-Dur. Allegro
16 Études op. 25: No. 4 a-Moll. Agitato
17 Études op. 25: No. 5 e-Moll. Vivace – Più lento –
18 Études op. 25: No. 6 gis-Moll. Allegro
19 Études op. 25: No. 7 cis-Moll. Lento
20 Études op. 25: No. 8 Des-Dur. Vivace
21 Études op. 25: No. 9 Ges-Dur. Allegro assai
22 Études op. 25: No. 10 h-Moll. Allegro con fuoco
23 Études op. 25: No. 11 a-Moll. Lento – Allegro con
24 Études op. 25: No. 12 c-Moll. Allegro molto con fu
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Etudes, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Mendelssohn, Felix - Symphonies No. 1 & 4
119 kr
Beethoven, Ludwig van - Symphonies No. 3 & 7 / Piano Concerto No. 4 - Knappertsbusch, Hans
169 kr
Schubert, Franz - 8 Impromptus - Katz, Amir
119 kr
Strauss, Richard - Also Sprach Zarathustra / Don Quixote - Karajan, Herbert von
Beethoven, Ludwig van - Symphonies Nos. 2 & 7 - Böhm, Karl C910151 2015-07-21 119 kr
Ej i lager
Handel, G F - Concerti Grossi, Op. 6 - Hofstetter, Michael C831151 2015-06-01 169 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Manfred Symphony - Nelsons, Andris C895151 2015-03-02 169 kr
Martin, Frank - Der Zaubertrank / Le Vin Herbé - Fricsay, Ferenc C890142 2014-08-19 169 kr
Beethoven / Mussorgsky / Stravinsky - Claudio Abbado At The Salzburg Festival - Abbado, Claudio C892141 2014-08-13 119 kr
Chopin, Frédéric - SOLO PIANO2 AN1190 2005-03-14 599 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar