Purcell, Henry - Fantazias - Chelys Consort of Viols

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
At the age of 20, Henry Purcell entered his 14 Fantasias and two In Nomines into an autograph bearing the title ‘The Works of Hen; Purcell, A.D. 1680’. Despite his youth Purcell was already making his mark as a composer, writing music for the London theatres and holding posts at Westminster Abbey and at court. But unlike his works for the theatre and the church, which were intended for specific occasions, very little is known about the impulse behind fantasias. Composed for between three and seven parts they are a consciously anachronistic distillation of an old style at a time when the reigning taste was for more modern sounds – for dance-based music with lively rhythms and hummable tunes. It isn’t even clear what kind of ensemble they were intended for: given the association with older music, one might assume that Purcell had viols in mind, but the distribution of the parts is not always in keeping with the standard sizes of the viol consort – nor for that matter those of the violin consort. Were the fantasias in fact ever performed? None of these questions has a satisfactory answer, and in this respect the Purcell Fantasias resemble Bach’s The Art of the Fugue, because of their quality and inventiveness but also owing to the mysteries that surround them. The collection is here performed by Chelys Consort of Viols, following up on three previous and acclaimed releases on BIS featuring the music of Michael East, John Dowland and Christopher Simpson.
Artikelnummer BIS2583
Streckkod 7318599925837
Utgivningsdatum 2021-12-03
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag BIS
Enhet Hybrid SACD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Chelys Consort of Viols
Kompositörer Purcell, Henry
Disk: 1
1 In Nomine a 6 in G minor, Z. 746
2 Fantasia a 4 in G minor, Z. 735
3 Fantasia a 4 in B flat major, Z. 736
4 Rondeau in B flat major
5 Fantasia a 4 in F major, Z. 737
6 Fantasia a 4 in C minor, Z. 738
7 Chaconne: Dance for a Chinese Man and Woman
8 Fantasia a 4 in D minor, Z. 739
9 Fantasia a 4 in A minor, Z. 740
10 Two in one upon a Ground
11 Fantasia a 4 in E minor, Z. 741
12 Fantasia a 4 in G major, Z. 742
13 Fantasia a 4 in D minor, Z. 743
14 Fantasia a 4 in A minor, Z. 744
15 Fantasia a 5 in F major 'upon one note', Z. 745
16 Fantasia a 3 in D minor, Z. 732
17 Fantasia a 3 in F major, Z. 733
18 Fantasia a 3 in G minor, Z. 734
19 Chacony in G minor, Z. 730
20 In Nomine a 7 in G minor, Z. 747
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Fantazias, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
East, Michael - Amavi - Music for Viols & Voices - Fieri Consort
169 kr
A Pleasing Melancholy - Chelys Consort of Viols - Various
169 kr
Sibelius, Jean - Piano Quintets & Melodramas
169 kr
Beethoven / Mozart - Quintets for Piano & Winds - Hough, Stephen (piano)
Aho, Kalevi - Contrabassoon Concerto/Tuba Concerto BIS1574 2007-02-28 169 kr
Delius/Elgar/Holst - Through Gold and Silver Clouds - Hughes, Owain Arwel (conductor) BIS1589 2007-02-28 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Rachmaninov, Sergey - Orchestral Works; The Three Symphonies (3CD Box) - Hughes, Owain Arwel (conductor) BIS1665 2007-01-31 269 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Sibelius, Jean - Origin of Fire, The - Ylioppilaskunnan laulajat BIS1525 2007-01-29 169 kr
Groven, Eivind - Towards the mountains - Aadland, Eivind BIS1312 2007-01-08 169 kr
Purcell, Henry - Fantazias - London Baroque BIS1165 2001-11-01 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar