Handel, G F - Fireworks Music / Water Music - King, Robert (conductor)

Lägg till önskelista + 89 kr - Utgången

On a cold January day in 1989, two dozen oboes, twelve bassoons, nine horns, nine trumpets and two giant double drums were gathered in a north London church to make what became of Hyperion's most iconic recordings: The King's Consort's recreation of Handel's Musick for the Royal Fireworks is a sonic triumph of jaw-dropping majesty, its authenticity only stopping short at burning down the venue.

'This recording recreates the scale of [the] original outdoor performance with 24 oboes, nine each of horns and trumpets, a dozen bassoons, and a mighty percussion of four pairs of timpani including a unique pair of extra-large 'double drums' and four side-drummers. The effect is shattering, the clearest justification for 'authenticity' in performance'
(BBC Music Magazine Top 1000 CDs Guide)

Ten years later Robert King and The King's Consort turned their attentions to the Water Music. Handel's commission was for an enormous party on the river Thames given by George I. A large orchestra was present on the musicians' barge: a good-size string section (despite the King's outspoken loathing of 'violeens') and a substantial wind presence. The sound of a large baroque wind band produces a magnificent sonority. Similarly, a colourful continuo force on the river seems probable. The rhythmic impetus of a pair of baroque guitars combined with the colours of two harpsichords lends the music a vital danceband-like rhythm section, much in keeping with the King's colourful intentions for his evening's entertainment! All faithfully recreated, of course. Except for the barge.

'The King's Consort makes Handel's music dance ... the whole thing is toe-tappingly infectious'
(Classic CD)

'A rewarding programme, imaginatively realised and played with panache. Strongly recommended'
Artikelnummer CDH55375
Streckkod 0034571153759
Utgivningsdatum 2009-03-16
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Hyperion / Helios
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister King, Robert (conductor)
Kompositörer Handel, G F
Disk: 1
Water Music, Suite in D/G major, HWV349/350
1 Ouverture
2 Bourrée
3 La Paix
4 La Réjouissance
5 Menuet I and II
6 Ouverture. Largo - Allegro
7 Adagio e staccato
8 [Allegro] - Andante - [Allegro]
9 [Menuet]
10 Air
11 Menuet
12 Bourrée
13 Hornpipe
14 [Andante]
15 [Ouverture]
16 Alla Hornpipe
17 [Menuet]
18 Rigaudon
19 Lentement
20 Bourrée
21 Menuet [I]
22 [Menuet II]
23 [Country Dances I & II]
24 [Trumpet Menuet]
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Fireworks Music / Water Music, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


79 kr
Handel, G F - Handel in Hamburg - Holman, Peter
79 kr
Scarlatti, Domenico - Salve regina - King, Robert (conductor)
79 kr
Handel, G F - Music for St Paul's - Scott, John (conductor)
89 kr
Mozart, W A - Epistle Sonatas - King, Robert (conductor)
Handel, G F - Trio Sonatas for oboe and violin - Convivium CDH55280 2008-01-14 79 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Telemann, G P - Musique de Table - King, Robert (conductor) CDH55278 2007-10-22 79 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Vivaldi, Antonio - La Folia - Purcell Quartet (The) CDH55231 2007-01-15 89 kr
Parry, Hubert - Violin Sonatas - Gruenberg, Erich CDH55266 2007-01-15 89 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Handel, G F - Ode for St Cecilia's Day - King, Robert (conductor) CDA67463 2004-09-20 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Handel, G F - Six Concerti Grossi Op. 3 - Goodman, Roy CDH55075 2001-06-01 79 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar