Ashton, Frederick - Frederick Ashton (DVD) - Plasson, Emmanuel

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Three contrasting ballets by The Royal Ballet’s Founder Choreographer Frederick Ashton: The Dream (1964) is an enchanting adaptation of Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream to music by Mendelssohn. Symphonic Variations (1946) is an early Ashton masterpiece, and a breathtaking, abstract work on the beauty of pure movement. Marguerite and Armand (1963), here danced by former Royal Ballet Principal Zenaida Yanowsky and Guest Artist Roberto Bolle, is a tragic love story of great lyric beauty. The Orchestra of the Royal Opera House is conducted by Emmanuel Plasson. "First-rate dancing in an Ashton triple bill that offers comedy, serenity and demi-monde ardour In one of her final performances as principal, Zenaida Yanowsky gives a tremendously intense and intelligent performance as the tragic courtesan" (The Stage) "Saying farewell to the Royal Ballet after 23 years, Yanowsky shows her quality as an actress, a dancer and a star. There’s a grand sweep to her movement, while her alert stage presence makes tiny moments count. When she’s forced to give up her lover, Roberto Bolle’s Armand, she holds still for a vulnerable second, trying to resist the inevitable. In her death scene, she’s ardent and feverish, clinging on to life. Bolle less at home in the grand gestures, but makes a sure, devoted partner. It’s a very moving goodbye." (The Independent)"Nicely covering the many bases of Frederick Ashton's genius, the Royal Ballet triple bill which opened last night is a chance to see both the company and its founder choreographer on top form. The Dream shows Ashton at his narrative best, handling comedy and kisses with equal aplomb. Symphonic Variations displays his slightly less well-known talent for abstract ballet, and is one of the most enjoyable 20 minutes in the entire repertoire. And Marguerite and Armand commemorates his abiding fascination with Margot Fonteyn, who inspired him more than any other dancer except perhaps Pavlova. Akada sparkles with Ashtonian sexiness, all orgasmic flutters and quivers. McRae is splendidly fey as Oberon, and has all the sprezzatura that taller dancers struggle to find in the part's show-off turning variations." (The Arts Desk) "A passionate tribute to an all-time genius The Royal Ballet is bringing this season – and its 70th-birthday celebrations – to a close with a perfectly chosen trio of works by its founder choreographer Frederick Ashton (1904-1988), works that remind us just how brightly and variously his genius blazed." (The Daily Telegraph) "Choreographically and musically, Ashton’s ballets remain as lustrous as the day he made them, and the Royal continues to give a fine account of them. The triple bill was splendidly danced over the course of its nine-day run. Fairies flitted beguilingly in The Dream, Symphonic Variations wove its ineffable spell, a trio of sad-eyed Marguerites expired in their lovers’ arms. Of starry performances, there was no shortage." (The Guardian)
Artikelnummer OA1264D
Streckkod 0809478012641
Utgivningsdatum 2018-08-24
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Opus Arte
Enhet DVD
Antal enheter 1
Dirigenter Plasson, Emmanuel
Kompositörer Ashton, Frederick
Orkestrar Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Frederick Ashton (DVD), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


389 kr
Ashton, Frederick - Frederick Ashton (Blu-ray) - Plasson, Emmanuel
299 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - The Sleeping Beauty (DVD)
299 kr
Bellini, Vincenzo - Norma (DVD) - Pappano, Antonio
239 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - The Nutcracker (DVD) - Royal Ballet, The
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Anastasia (DVD) - Hewett, Simon OA1243D 2017-10-06 299 kr
The Royal Opera Collection (22 DVD) - - Various OA1244BD 2017-10-06 1.339 kr
Rossini, Gioachino - Guillaum Tell (DVD) - Finley, Gerald OA1205D 2017-09-01 299 kr
Adam, Adolphe - Giselle (DVD) OA1230D 2017-03-24 299 kr
Messager, André - Frederick Ashton: Rhapsody &The Two Pigeons (DVD) - The Royal Opera / The Royal Ballet OA1187 2016-10-28 299 kr
Bizet, Georges - Carlos Acosta: Carmen (ballet version) - Plasson, Emmanuel OA1212 2016-06-24 299 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar