Finnissy, Michael - Gershwin Arrangements, More Gershwin - Huisman, Lukas

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
While Michael Finnissy, born in 1946, has become known as one of the UK’s most original voices, he began his career pursuing the dual career of a pianist and composer. As a performer he was associated with the virtuoso solo repertory, and Finnissy’s own creative development has been punctuated by significant piano works. The epic nine-movement solo cycle of English Country-Tunes (1977) established Finnissy internationally as a voice of originality and distinction. The History of Photography in Sound (1995–2001) is his magnum opus, lasting five-and-a-half hours, but hardly less important are his substantial contributions to the art of piano transcription inherited from the 19th century: the Verdi Transcriptions (1972–2005), and his bittersweet sets of Gershwin Arrangements (1975–88) and More Gershwin (1989–90). Finnissy’s near-encyclopedic knowledge of art music, as well as many other genres such as blues and jazz, allows him to pay affectionate homage to the object of his consideration, before raising the threat of its distortion and corruption. For this new recording, Lukas Huisman’s own illuminating booklet essay identifies the ‘friction’ at the heart of Finnissy’s Gershwin: a combining of styles ‘in which both vocabularies flourish’, jazz modernism. In most cases Gershwin’s famous melodies are, without serious alterations, recontextualized. The arrangements are rich and detailed with and a polyphonic web that is filled with layers of meaning. The results are consistently tense, funny and charming all at once. The composer himself has explained: ‘Tempo and harmony change from fast to slow, light to dark, and vice versa. Forceful sentiments become quite docile. Unbridled joy turns to melancholy. Blithe security is transformed into tense and upsetting ambiguity. Naïve grows cynical. Day changes into night, and girls become boys.’
Artikelnummer PCL10218
Streckkod 5029365102186
Utgivningsdatum 2021-05-28
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Piano Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Huisman, Lukas
Kompositörer Finnissy, Michael
Disk: 1
1 Rosalie: How Long Has This Been Going On? (arr. M.
2 A Damsel in Distress (arr. M. Finnissy for piano)
3 A Damsel in Distress (arr. M. Finnissy for piano)
4 The Goldwyn Follies: Love is Here to Stay (arr. M.
5 Shall We Dance (arr. M. Finnissy for piano) (excer
6 Shall We Dance (arr. M. Finnissy for piano) (excer
7 Girl Crazy: But Not for Me (arr. M. Finnissy for p
8 Oh, Kay!: Fidgety Feet (arr. M. Finnissy for piano
9 Girl Crazy: Embraceable You (arr. M. Finnissy for
10 The Sweetheart Shop: Waiting for the Sun to Come O
11 Innocent Ingenue Baby (arr. M. Finnissy for piano)
12 Delicious: Blah, blah, blah (arr. M. Finnissy for
13 A Dangerous Maid: Boy Wanted (arr. M. Finnissy for
14 Limehouse Nights (arr. M. Finnissy for piano)
15 Primrose: Wait a Bit, Susie (arr. M. Finnissy for
16 Lady, be Good!: I'd Rather Charleston (arr. M. Fin
17 Isn't It Wonderful! (arr. M. Finnissy for piano)
18 La-la-Lucille: Nobody But You (arr. M. Finnissy fo
19 Capitol Revue: Swanee (arr. M. Finnissy for piano)
20 Dixie Rose (arr. M. Finnissy for piano)
21 Someone Believes in You (arr. M. Finnissy for pian
22 Nifties of 1923: Nashville Nightingale (arr. M. Fi
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Gershwin Arrangements, More Gershwin, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


189 kr
Takemitsu, Toru - Complete Works for Piano - Huisman, Lukas
189 kr
Ogdon, John - Original Piano Music - Hay, Tyler
189 kr
Bortkiewicz, Sergei - Piano Concertos 2 & 3 - Doniga, Stefan
189 kr
Scriabin, Alexander - Scriabin - Dasic, Misha
Bach, J S - Piano Transcriptions - Delucchi, Emanuele PCL10139 2018-02-16 189 kr
Messiaen, Olivier - Vingt Regards sur l'enfant Jésus - Kars, Jean-Rudolphe PCL10134 2018-01-12 219 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Alkan, Charles-Valentin - 12 Etudes Op 35 - Viner, Mark PCL10127 2017-12-01 159 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Clementi, Muzio - Sonatas & Preludes - Kim, Ilia PCL10128 2017-09-22 159 kr
Alkan, Charles-Valentin - Concerti da Camera and Solo Piano Music - Bellucci, Giovanni PCL10135 2017-09-22 189 kr
Sorabji, Kaikhosru - Symphonic Nocturne - Huisman, Lukas PCLD0119 2017-01-27 239 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar