Coleridge-Taylor, Samuel - Heart & Hereafter: Collected Songs of Samuel Coleridge-Taylor - Llewellyn, Elizabeth

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Known for her vivid portrayals and full, distinctive voice, Elizabeth Llewellyn has established herself internationally as a dramatic and vocal artist of distinction. She has chosen to offer listeners something new by devoting her debut disc to the music of Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, much of it never recorded before. To poetry by Christina Rossetti, Coleridge-Taylor’s Six Sorrow Songs and A Lament are almost all world-premiere recordings. The Southern Love Songs evoke styles including Latin music and flamenco, and the African Romances, never recorded until now, are to words by African-American writer Paul Laurence Dunbar. Big Lady Moon is to poetry by West African polymath Kathleen Mary Easmon, and the sensuous Three Songs of Sun and Shade are followed by more previously-unreleased songs: A king there lived in Thule, Canoe Song and You’ll Love Me Yet. The recital ends with Life and Death, in which Coleridge-Taylor anticipates styles that would become popular two decades after his death. This was a composer ahead of his time who, at last, is starting to receive the recognition he deserves.
Artikelnummer ORC100164
Streckkod 5060189561643
Utgivningsdatum 2021-05-28
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Orchid Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Llewellyn, Elizabeth
Lepper, Simon
Kompositörer Coleridge-Taylor, Samuel
Disk: 1
Six Sorrow Songs, Op.57
1 Oh, what comes over the sea
2 When I am dead, my dearest
3 Oh, roses for the flush of youth
4 She sat and sang alway
5 Unmindful of the roses
6 Too late for love!
7 Minguillo
8 If thou art sleeping, maiden
9 Tears
10 An African love song
11 A prayer
12 A starry night
13 Dawn
14 Ballad
15 Over the hills
16 How shall I woo thee
17 Big Lady Moon
18 Thou art risen, my beloved
19 You lay so still in the sunshine
20 Thou hast bewitched me, beloved
21 A king there lived in Thule (after Goethe’s Faust)
22 A Lament
Six Sorrow Songs, Op.57
23 Canoe Song
24 You'll love me yet
25 Life and Death
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Heart & Hereafter: Collected Songs of Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Serenade for strings / Souvenir de Florence - Zhislin, Yuri
159 kr
Smetana / Tchaikovsky - Piano Trios - Trio con Brio Copenhagen
159 kr
Ortiz, Pablo - Gallos y Huesos - Hillier, Paul
289 kr
Beethoven, Ludwig van - Symphonies Nos. 1-4 - Shui, Lan
Berlioz / Liszt - Harold in Italy - Stumm, Jennifer (viola) ORC100044 2014-08-27 149 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Complete String Quartets & Piano Quintet - Gringolts Quartet ORC100042 2014-06-11 289 kr
Alberga, Eleanor - Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs - DeVito, Danny ORC100019 2012-11-21 149 kr
Ravel / Bloch / Janácek - Violin Sonatas - Åstrand, Christina (violin) ORC100022 2012-11-21 159 kr
Bach, J S - St Matthew Passion (sung in English) - Skidmore, Jeffrey (conductor) ORC100007 2010-01-25 299 kr
Coleridge-Taylor, Samuel - Piano Quintet / Clarinet Quintet - Nash Ensemble (The) CDA67590 2007-10-08 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar