Brouwer, Leo - Hika and the Young Composer - Zigante, Frederic (guitar)

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
This recording presents some of the most significant early pieces by the Cuban composer Leo Brouwer (b.1939); it also includes other works, such as Hika from 1994 and the third and fourth series of his Estudios sencillos (1981), which show clear similarities with the composer's early style. First to be composed of the works here is a Danza caracteristica from 1956. A popular song melody forms the basis for an Afro-Cuban flavoured fantasy. The Fugue No.1 dates from the following year, when Brouwer was still a teenager: having outlined a theme of Baroque proportions he takes a fairly free attitude to its contrapuntal elaboration, anticipating the concise play of fantasy in the Tres Apuntes of 1959. Having soon after moved to the US, Brouwer composed the first two books of the Estudios sencillos out of financial necessity, but they have proved among his most enduring and successful works, drawing energy not only from his Cuban heritage but the didactic economy of the Mikrokosmos by Bartók. Almost all of the third and fourth books from the series date from 1981; although Brouwer had both moved back to Cuba by then as well as moved on in his own style towards a more neo-romantic language, he rediscovered the lively economy of thought which runs through the earlier studies, combining it with both neoclassical harmonies and even chance procedures to produce among the most significant collections of guitar studies from the second half of the last century. ‘These short pieces reflect all of Brouwer’s creative genius,’ says Frédéric Zigante, ‘and I have always been fond of them, first as a young student of guitar and later as a guitar teacher. To me, they are an ideal method for weaning young guitarists from the didactic repertory of the 19th century.’ The French-born guitarist bases his career in northern Italy, but he has performed and recorded worldwide, as well as editing more than 40 volumes of guitar music for publishers such as Ricordi and Max Eschig. This new album marks his Brilliant Classics debut. Leo Brouwer (1939) is by far Cuba’s best known composer. A composer, guitarist, percussionist, conductor, teacher and cultural promotor he is one of the most important and influential musical figures of Latin-America. Brouwer’s grandfather was a Franco-Dutch adventurer, while his mother’s uncle was the famous composer Ernesto Lecuona. Brouwer studied at the prestigious Juilliard School in New York with Persichetti and Stefan Wolpe. In 1961 he returned to his native Cuba, to become a professional guitarist and composer. His works have entered the standard repertoire of the modern guitarist, played and enjoyed all over the world. This new recording includes the Hika, a piece written in memoriam Toru Takemitsu, a close friend of his. The other works are from Brouwer’s “early period”: the complete “20 Estudios Sencillos” (a Latin-American answer to Bartók’s Mikrokosmos), a Danza Caracteristca, Elogio de la Danza, and Tres Apuntes, all written in Brouwer’s unique fusion of Folk Music and 20th century Avant-Garde. Excellent performance by master guitarist Frédéric Zigante, who recorded for Brilliant Classics the complete guitar music by Villa-Lobos.
Artikelnummer 95838
Streckkod 5028421958385
Utgivningsdatum 2019-01-18
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Brilliant Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Zigante, Frederic (guitar)
Kompositörer Brouwer, Leo
Disk: 1
1 Hika – In Memoriam Toru Takemitsu (1996) – Tempo l
2 Tres apuntes: I. Del “homenaje a falla”
3 Tres apuntes: II. De un fragmento instrumental
4 Tres apuntes: III. Sobre un canto de Bulgaria
5 Fuga No. 1
6 20 Estudios sencillos: I. Mosso
7 20 Estudios sencillos: II. Coral. Lento
8 20 Estudios sencillos: III. Rapido
9 20 Estudios sencillos: IV. Comodo. Allegretto
10 20 Estudios sencillos: V. Montuno. Allegretto
11 20 Estudios sencillos: VI. —
12 20 Estudios sencillos: VII. Il più rapido possible
13 20 Estudios sencillos: VIII. Tranquillo
14 20 Estudios sencillos: IX. Scherzo
15 20 Estudios sencillos: X. —
16 20 Estudios sencillos: XI. Allegretto
17 20 Estudios sencillos: XII. Tranquillo. Moderato
18 20 Estudios sencillos: XIII. Mosso
19 20 Estudios sencillos: XIV. Allegro
20 20 Estudios sencillos: XV. Sarabanda
21 20 Estudios sencillos: XVI. Tempo di ouverture fra
22 20 Estudios sencillos: XVII. Moderato
23 20 Estudios sencillos: XVIII. Moderato quasi lento
24 20 Estudios sencillos: XIX. Mosso. Allegretto
25 20 Estudios sencillos: XX. Mosso
26 Elogio de la danza: I. Lento
27 Elogio de la danza: II. Obstinado
28 Danza característica: I. Allegro
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Hika and the Young Composer, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


89 kr
Brouwer, Leo - El Arpa del Guerrero - Works for Solo Guitar - Caruso, Giovanni
129 kr
Mozart, W A - 3CD-BOX: Die Zauberflöte - Kuijken, Sigiswald
109 kr
Villa-Lobos, Heitor - Complete Guitar Music - Zigante, Frederic (guitar)
89 kr
Poulenc, Francis - Les Mamelles de Tiresias - Nieuw Ensemble
Schoenberg, Arnold - Moses und Aron - Austrian Radio Symphony Orchestra 9083 2011-01-03 109 kr
Ej i lager
Shostakovich, Dmitry - The Gamblers - Bolshoi Theatre Orchestra 9181 2011-01-03 89 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Mozart, W A - Così fan tutte - Genz, Christoph (tenor) 93925 2011-01-03 129 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Mozart, W A - Le Nozze di Figaro - Kuijken, Sigiswald 93966 2011-01-03 129 kr
Brouwer, Leo - Guitar Concerto No 5 (Helsinki) / Iberia Suite - Korhonen, Timo (guitar) ODE9792 2002-01-01 159 kr
Brouwer, Leo - Piano and Guitar - Halász, Franz BIS671 1997-03-15 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar