Johnson, Liz - Intricate Web - Fitzwilliam String Quartet

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Liz Johnson is a British composer with a very special gift and distinctive style, definitely in the avant-garde mold yet not totally alien to ‘traditional-music’ lovers. ‘Intricate Web’ is not only the title of one of the quartets here (there are four numbered String Quartets and two other works for the quartet) but also accurately describes her compositional technique which is complex and detailed, requiring top class performers. It may also describe the way in which the pieces here have been assembled, splitting cello solos and vocal pieces between the quartets to create a web of fascinating sounds and textures. The Fitzwilliam String Quartet is undoubtedly one of today’s most celebrated ensembles with a fine reputation in the world of new music. Cellist Heather Tuach plays solo in the breathtaking Cello Suite. Soprano Loré Lixenberg deals with the immense difficulty of the writing in the Jo Shapcott Settings and Ronald Woodley provides a magical performance on several clarinets. In all, a superb introduction to a major composer deserving wide recognition. Over 157 minutes of music!
Artikelnummer MSV77206
Streckkod 0809730720628
Utgivningsdatum 2017-05-19
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Metier
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 2
Artister Fitzwilliam String Quartet
Kompositörer Johnson, Liz
Disk: 1
1 String Quartet No. 3 "Intricate Web"
2 Part 1
3 Towards the Sea
4 Cabbage Dreams
5 I. Clefts and fissures of bark
6 II. Winter branches
7 III. Leaf
8 Sleep Close
9 Tide purl
10 Part 2
11 Watching Medusa
12 Fantasia Forty-something
Disk: 2
1 Clarinet Quintet "Sea-change"
2 I. Part I
3 II. Part 2
4 III. Part 3
5 Elephant Woman
6 Pig
7 Part 3
8 String Quartet No. 4 "Sky-burial"
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Intricate Web, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Blunt, Marcus - Orchestral Works - McLachlan, Murray
159 kr
Braid, David - Songs, Solos + Duos - Various
159 kr
Raftery, Kevin - Chamber Music
159 kr
Bodley, Seóirse - Das Buch der hängenden Gärten; A Girl - Kerrigan, Aylish
Clarke, Rhona - A Different Game - Piano Trios by Rhona Clarke MSV28561 2017-03-17 159 kr
Piccolo Works - Schwaabe, Natalie MSV28562 2017-02-17 159 kr
Lefanu, Nicola - Mandala 3 - Leonard, Sarah (soprano) MSV28565 2017-02-17 159 kr
Stravinsky, Igor - Quartet Choreography - The Soundtrack - Kreutzer Quartet MSVCD92105 2017-01-20 149 kr
Kerrigan, Aylish - I am Wind on Sea: Contemporary Vocal Music from Ireland MSV28558 2016-11-11 159 kr
Sea to the West - Hilliard, Elizabeth MSV28551 2016-10-14 159 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar