Dmitri Shostakovich - Jazz & Variety Suites - Litton, Andrew

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Dmitri Shostakovich was the most versatile of composers: popular and serious styles came to him with equal ease and are frequently found together in the same work. In his twenties, before the heavy hand of Soviet officialdom slapped him down in 1936, music of every kind poured out of him: symphonies, operas and full-length ballets but also a great amount of music for film and theatre. Here Andrew Litton leads the Singapore Symphony Orchestra in a program which explores this lighter side of a composer who is otherwise often regarded as unrelentingly serious. The album opens with Suite for Jazz Orchestra No. 1, which Litton conducts from the piano. Consisting of three brief movements, it is the only truly original work on the disc, written in 1934 for a competition aimed at making ‘Soviet Jazz’ more respectable. The remaining suites are all reworkings of existing music, such as the ballets The Age of Gold – about the adventures of a Soviet football team visiting the decadent West – and The Limpid Stream, portraying a group of entertainers visiting an idyllic collective farm. The Suite for Variety Orchestra is a compilation that the composer made in the late 1950s from three film scores, a ballet movement and four piano pieces. Closing the album is Shostakovich’s 1927 orchestration of a Broadway classic, Vincent Youmans’ Tea for Two, which had become a hit under the title Tahiti Trot.
Artikelnummer BIS2472
Streckkod 7318599924724
Utgivningsdatum 2022-04-01
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag BIS
Enhet Hybrid SACD
Antal enheter 1
Dirigenter Litton, Andrew
Kompositörer Dmitri Shostakovich
Orkestrar Singapore Symphony Orchestra
Disk: 1
Suite for Variety Orchestra
1 I. Waltz
2 Ii. Polka
3 Iii. Foxtrot
4 I. Introduction
5 Ii. Adagio
6 Iii. Polka
7 Iv. Dance
8 I. Waltz
9 Ii. Russian Popular Dance
10 Iii. Gallop
11 Iv. Adagio
12 V. Pizzicato
13 March
14 Dance No. 1
15 Dance No. 2
16 Little Polka
17 Lyric Waltz
18 Waltz 1
19 Waltz 2
20 Finale
21 Tahiti Trot
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Jazz & Variety Suites, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


559 kr
Prokofiev, Sergey - The Symphonies (5CD) - Bondarenko, Andrei
169 kr
Balakirev, M A - Russian Spectacular - Shui, Lan
169 kr
Prokofiev, Sergey - Symphonies Nos. 1, 2, 3 - Litton, Andrew
169 kr
Strauss, Richard - Macbeth; Rosenkavalier Suite; Tod und Verklarung
Holst, Gustav - The Planets; Enigma Variations - Litton, Andrew BIS2068 2019-07-05 169 kr
Debussy, Claude - Nocturnes; Printemps; Rapsodie & Danses sacrée et profane - Shui, Lan BIS2232 2019-06-07 169 kr
Prokofiev, Sergey - Romeo & Juliet - Litton, Andrew (conductor) BISSACD1301 2007-01-29 169 kr
Groven, Eivind - Towards the mountains - Aadland, Eivind BIS1312 2007-01-08 169 kr
Järvlepp, Jan - Garbage Concerto; Rock Symphony - Shui, Lan (conductor) BIS1052 2000-05-01 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Tcherepnin, Alexander - Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2; Piano Concerto No. 5 - Ogawa, Noriko BIS1017 1999-09-13 169 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar