Purcell, Henry - King Arthur, 1691 - Gabrieli Consort

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
The great patriotic opera of the 17th century, recorded here in a lively new performing edition after two decades in the Gabrieli’s touring repertoire. Notoriously difficult to present on disc or in concert, this version presented by Gabrieli was created to allow an obvious musical narrative, despite Purcell’s music often being completely dislocated from much of the original theatre context. Gabrieli have been performing the music from King Arthur for nearly a quarter of a century, evolving their interpretation over time. With the score having to be pieced together using separate versions (due to Purcell’s originals being lost), and with Gabrieli’s evolved interpretation of the music, the end product of this recording is truly unique. Their next release on Signum will be with the semi-opera by Purcell, Fairy Queen, in April next year, which is an adaptation of A Midsummer Nights Dream.
Artikelnummer SIGCD589
Streckkod 0635212058923
Utgivningsdatum 2019-10-25
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Signum
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 2
Artister Gabrieli Consort
Dirigenter McCreesh, Paul
Kompositörer Purcell, Henry
Disk: 1
King Arthur, Z. 628 (Suckling/McCreesh Edition)
1 Aire (from Amphitryon, Z. 572)
2 Minuet (from Amphitryon, Z. 572)
3 Hornpipe (from Amphitryon, Z. 572)
4 Scotch Tune (from Amphitryon, Z. 572)
5 Overture
6 Aire
7 Act I: Verse & Chorus – Woden, First to Thee / We
8 Act I: Verse & Chorus – The White Horse Neigh’d Al
9 Act I: Verse & Chorus – The Lot Is Cast / Brave So
10 Act I: Song & Chorus – I Call You All to Woden’s H
11 Act I: Prelude, Song & Chorus – Come If You Dare,
12 Act II: Prelude – Aire
13 Act II: Song & Chorus – Hither This Way (Philadel)
14 Act II: Song – Let Not a Moonborn Elf Mislead Ye (
15 Act II: Chorus – Hither This Way
16 Act II: Verse & Chorus – Come Follow Me
17 Act II: Prelude, Song & Chorus – How Blest Are She
18 Act II: Prelude & Song – Shepherd, Shepherd, Leave
19 Act II: Chorus & Dance – Come, Shepherds, Lead up
20 Act II: Second Act Tune – Rondeau (From Distress’d
21 Act III: Prelude & Verse – What Ho, Thou Genius of
22 Act III: Prelude & Song – What Power Art Thou (Col
23 Act III: Song – Thou Doting Fool, Forbear (Cupid)
24 Act III: Song – Great Love, I Know Thee Now (Cold
25 Act III: Verse – No Part of My Dominion Shall Be W
26 Act III: Chorus & Dance – See, See, We Assemble
27 Act III: Prelude, Song & Chorus – ’Tis I That Have
28 Act III: Song – Sound a Parley (Cupid & Cold Geniu
29 Act III: Chorus – ’Tis Love That Has Warm’d Us
30 Act III: Third Act Tune – Aire
Disk: 2
King Arthur, Z. 628 (Suckling/McCreesh Edition)
1 Act IV: Soft Music – Aire (from Bonduca, Z. 574)
2 Act IV: Song – Two Daughters of This Aged Stream A
3 Act IV: Passacaglia – How Happy the Lover / For Lo
4 Act IV: Song by Mr. Howe – You Say, ’Tis Love Crea
5 Act IV: Fourth Act Tune – Hornpipe
6 Act V: Prelude – Rondeau (From The Old Bachelor, Z
7 Act V: Prelude & Song – Ye Blust’Ring Brethren / S
8 Act V: Soft Tune
9 Act V: Prelude, Song & Chorus – Round Thy Coasts (
10 Act V: Song – For Folded Flocks (Three Shepherds)
11 Act V: Song & Dance – Your Hay It Is Mow’d (Comus
12 Act V: Prelude & Song – Fairest Isle (Venus)
13 Act V: Tune for Trumpets (after Dioclesian, Z. 627
14 Act V: New Song & Chorus for Britannia & St George
15 Act V: Grand Dance – Chaconne
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om King Arthur, 1691, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


259 kr
Gabrieli Consort - An English Coronation, 1902-1953
159 kr
Various - A Rose Magnificat - McCreesh, Paul
159 kr
Various - Silence & Music - McCreesh, Paul
259 kr
Handel, G F - L'Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato - McCreesh, Paul
Purcell, Henry - Collection - Voces 8 SIGCD375 2014-03-26 159 kr
Gabrieli Consort - Incarnation - Christmas Music SIGCD346 2013-11-13 159 kr
Mendelssohn, Felix - Elijah - McCreesh, Paul SIGCD300 2012-09-05 259 kr
Ej i lager
Gabrieli Consort - New Venetian Coronation 1595 SIGCD287 2012-06-26 159 kr
Gabrieli Consort - A Song of Farewell SIGCD281 2012-04-12 159 kr
Berlioz, Hector - Grande Messe de Morts (2 CD) - McCreesh, Paul SIGCD280 2011-10-12 259 kr
Ej i lager
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar