Various - Lamento - Davies, Iestyn

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Counter-tenor Iestyn Davies and and the viol consort Fretwork present a new recording of works for viol consort and voice drawn from 17th-century Germany, following their critically-praised 2019 album of works by Michael Nyman and Henry Purcell. Featuring performances from organist Silas Wollston and counter-tenor Hugh Cutting, the recital ranges widely over the 17th century – from the early years with three curiously similar sounding friends: Schein, Scheidt and Schütz, to the most significant member of the Bach family before Johann Sebastian, Johann Christoph Bach. From their they travel down North Sea to the foothills of the Alps, including Buxtehude’s predecessor at the Marienkirche in Lübeck – Franz Tunder (whose daughter Buxtehude was to marry) and another north German composer who worked in Copenhagen, Christian Geist. Giovanni Felice Sances is an outlier here: he was born in Rome, but spent the second part of his life working for three successive Emperors in Vienna, where viol playing was still very much in vogue. In 2021, Fretwork celebrates its 35th anniversary. In the past three and a half decades they have explored the core repertory of great English consort music, from Taverner to Purcell, and made classic recordings against which others are judged. In addition to this, Fretwork have become known as pioneers of contemporary music for viols, having commissioned over 40 new works. Iestyn Davies is a British countertenor widely recognised as one of the world’s finest singers celebrated for the beauty and technical dexterity of his voice and intelligent musicianship. Critical recognition of Iestyn’s work can be seen in two Gramophone Awards, a Grammy Award, a RPS Award for Young Singer of the Year, the Critics’ Circle Award and recently an Olivier Award Nomination. He was awarded the MBE in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours List 2017 for services to music.
Artikelnummer SIGCD684
Streckkod 0635212068427
Utgivningsdatum 2021-08-27
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Signum
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Davies, Iestyn
Kompositörer Various
Disk: 1
1 Salve mi Jesu
2 Canzon super ‘o Nachbar Roland’, Sswv 66
3 Ach dass ich Wassers g’nug hätte (Lamento)
Banchetto Musicale, Suite No. 14
4 I. Paduan
5 Ii. Gagliarda
6 Iii. Courente
7 Iv. Allemande & Tripla
8 Auf dem Gebirge, Swv 396
9 . Paduan
10 I. Gagliarda
11 Ii. Courente
12 V. Allemande & Tripla
13 Es war aber an der Stätte
14 An Wasserflüßen Babylon
15 Canzon super Cantionem Gallicam Sswv 67
16 O dulce nomen Jesu
17 Christ unser Herr zum Jordan Kam
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Lamento, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Various - Tom & Will – Weelkes & Byrd - 400 Years - The King's Singers
159 kr
Various - In Chains of Gold, The English Pre-Restoration Verse Anthem, Vol. 2 - William Byrd to Edmund Hooper, Psalms & Royal Anthems - Magdalena Consort
159 kr
Various - In Nomine II - Fretwork
159 kr
Gibbons, Orlando - In Chains of Gold: The English Pre-Restoration Verse Anthem, Vol. 1 - Fretwork
Various - Silence & Music - McCreesh, Paul SIGCD490 2017-10-06 159 kr
Lost is my Quiet – Duets and solo songs - Sampson, Carolyn - Various BIS2279 2017-09-29 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Fauré, Gabriel - The Complete Songs of Faure, Vol. 2 - Murray, Ann SIGCD472 2017-08-18 159 kr
Various - Five - Rhodes, James (piano) SIGCD371 2014-09-10 159 kr
Various - My Beloved's Voice - Choir of Jesus College SIGCD370 2014-09-10 159 kr
The King's Singers / Concordia - 1605: Treason And Dischord - Various SIGCD061 2005-06-06 159 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar