Last Leaf - Danish String Quartet, The

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
They are widely recognised as the most exciting young string quartet of the present moment, bringing new insights to contemporary composition and core classical repertoire. In parallel, they have also made surprising and impressive forays into the world of Nordic folk music. Their 2014 album "Wood Works" (Dacapo Records) was a left-field hit, and audiences around the world have been delighted by concert performances of the music. Now the Danish String Quartet bring their folk project to ECM with a stirring new recording. "Fästan" takes off from an unusual Christmas hymn, “Now found is the fairest of roses”, published in 1732 by Danish theologian and poet H.A. Brorson. The hymn is set to a mysterious, dark melody: Brorson had chosen an old Lutheran funeral choral to accompany his Christmas hymn, elegantly showing how life and death are always connected. “From here we embark on a travel through the rich fauna of Nordic folk melodies until returning to Brorson in the end,” say the DSQ. “It is a journey that could have been made in many different ways, but we believe that we returned with some nice souvenirs. In these old melodies, we find immense beauty and depth, and we can't help but sing them through the medium of our string quartet. Brorson found the fairest of roses, we found a bunch of amazing tunes – and we hope you will enjoy what we did to them.”
Artikelnummer ECM2550
Streckkod 0028948157464
Utgivningsdatum 2017-09-22
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag ECM
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Danish String Quartet, The
Disk: 1
1 Despair not, o heart
2 Shore
3 Polska from Dorotea
4 Tjønneblomen
5 Minuet no. 60
6 Æ Rømeser
7 Intermezzo
8 Shine you no more
9 Drømte mig en drøm
10 Stædelil
11 Naja's Waltz
12 Unst Boat Song
13 Fastän
14 Hur var du i aftes så sildig
15 The Dromer
16 Now found is the fairest of roses
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Last Leaf, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


151 kr (189 kr)
Beethoven, Ludwig van - Prism IV - Danish String Quartet, The
151 kr (189 kr)
Danish String Quartet, The - PRISM III - Beethoven, Ludwig van
151 kr (189 kr)
Danish String Quartet, The - Prism II - Beethoven, Ludwig van
151 kr (189 kr)
Danish String Quartet, The - Prism I - Bach, J S
Pärt, Arvo - Passio - Hilliard Ensemble (The) ECM1370 1988-10-01 151 kr (189 kr)
Pärt, Arvo - Arbos - Hilliard Ensemble (The) ECM1325 1987-05-01 151 kr (189 kr)
Pärt, Arvo - Tabula Rasa - Kremer/Jarrett ECM1275 1984-09-01 151 kr (189 kr)
Reich, Steve - Octet / Music For Large Ensemble / Violin Phase ECM1168 1980-09-01 151 kr (189 kr)
Reich, Steve - Music for 18 Musicians ECM1129 1978-04-01 151 kr (189 kr)
Garbarek, Jan (saxophone) - Luminessence ECM1049 1975-03-01 151 kr (189 kr)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar