Mahler, Gustav - Lieder - Hendricks, Barbara

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Following the success of her disc Blues Everywhere I Go in 2015, Barbara Hendricks now returns to the grand Classical repertoire in this performance of lieder by one of the greatest composers in the genre, Gustav Mahler. An essential part of Gustav Mahler’s work belongs to the lied genre, which, together with the symphony, is one of the two key facets of his output. They are of capital importance in his work because the composer’s fusion of the two genres succeeded in breathing new life into both. The Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen (Songs of a Wayfarer) belong to his early creative period: they evoke a wayfarer who, buffeted by fate, goes off into the world, with no fixed purpose. This cycle of 4 very different melodies, with its obvious similarities to Schubert’s Winterreise, relates the story of a dreamy young man who is haunted in his wanderings by the memory of his beloved. He is the very picture of the Romantic Wanderer, portrayed with his existential sorrow, his mood swings, his hopes and his vexations. Fifteen years later, Mahler turned his attention to the poet Friedrich Rückert in composing his Rückert-Lieder, which marked an oasis of equilibrium during one of the happiest periods of his life, when he met his future wife, Alma. The brevity, delicacy and refinement of these lieder provide a contrast with Mahler’s more grandiloquent works. These superb miniatures translate inner states of mind in which the spirit of the traditional lied blends with that of the art lied. Although it is not a song cycle in the strict sense, it does have an overall unity of tone and mood. Having achieved a measure of perfection in the lied genre, Mahler could subsequently focus on a fusion of the lied and the symphony, a feat that would be realized in Das Lied von der Erde (The Song of the Earth), that vast “symphony of lieder” constructed around a handful of Chinese poems. Der Abschied (The Farewell), the last in the cycle, is the longest in the work, but it is also the most highly developed, and the music, with its great simplicity, has a beauty, which, like the final words of Mahler’s masterpiece that concludes this album, is eternal. Barbara Hendricks’ musical association with Gustav Mahler goes back a long way: she recorded his Second Symphony in 1987 with Christa Ludwig and Leonard Bernstein, and she has twice recorded his Fourth Symphony – in 1979 with Zubin Mehta and in 1992 with Esa-Pekka Salonen. But this is her first recording of these lieder, which have nevertheless been part of her concert repertoire for more than 40 years.
Artikelnummer ARV014
Streckkod 5425019971144
Utgivningsdatum 2019-01-11
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Arte Verum
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Hendricks, Barbara
Derwinger, Love
Kompositörer Mahler, Gustav
Disk: 1
1 Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen, I. Wenn mein Scha
2 Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen, II. Ging heut' mo
3 Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen, III. Ich Hab' Ein
4 Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen, IV. Die zwei blau
5 Rückert-Lieder, I. Ich atmet' einen linden Duft!
6 Rückert-Lieder, II. Liebst du um Schönheit
7 Rückert-Lieder, III. Blicke Mir Nicht In Die Liede
8 Rückert-Lieder, IV. Ich bin der Welt abhanden geko
9 Rückert-Lieder, V. Um Mitternacht
10 Das Lied von der Erde, Der Abschied
11 Lieder Eines Fahrenden Gesellen: I. Wenn mein Scha
12 Lieder Eines Fahrenden Gesellen: II. Ging heut’ mo
13 Lieder Eines Fahrenden Gesellen: III. Ich hab’ ein
14 Lieder Eines Fahrenden Gesellen: IV. Die zwei blau
15 Rückert-Lieder: I. Ich Atmet’ Einen Linden Duft!
16 Rückert-Lieder: II. Liebst du um Schönheit
17 Rückert-Lieder: III. Blicke mir nicht in die Liede
18 Rückert-Lieder: IV. Ich bin der Welt abhanden geko
19 Rückert-Lieder: V. Um Mitternacht
20 Der Abschied
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Lieder, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


279 kr
Mahler, Gustav - Symphony No. 9 - Sinopoli, Giuseppe (conductor)
169 kr
Various - Chamber Music from Estonia - Tallinn String Quartet
169 kr
Mahler, Gustav - Symphony No. 9
169 kr
Grieg, Edvard - Piano Music Without Opus Number - Derwinger, Love
Eliasson, Anders - Chamber Music - Derwinger, Love BIS603 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Mendelssohn, Felix - Complete Solo Concertos - Brautigam, Ronald BIS966 1998-11-20 409 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Mendelssohn, Felix - Concertos for Two Pianos - Derwinger, Love BIS688 1997-03-15 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Reger, Max - Piano ConcertoIn F Minor; Suite Im Alten Stil - Derwinger, Love BIS711 1995-09-25 169 kr
Mahler, Gustav - Symphony No. 8 - Järvi, Neeme (conductor) BIS700 1995-01-25 169 kr
Poulenc, Francis - Complete Works For Two Pianos - Pöntinen, Roland BIS593 1993-05-25 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar