Kienzl, Wilhelm - Lieder, Vol. 1

Köp + Lägg till önskelista + 169 kr - Fåtal i lager

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Christiane Libor, soprano
Carsten Süss, tenor
Jochen Kupfer, baritone)
Stacey Bartsch, piano

This is Volume 1 in a planned series of two, devoted to the rarely recorded but striking and imaginative Lieder by Wilhelm Kienzl, a composer of the romantic post-Wagner era. The works are performed by artists steeped in the Lieder tradition: Christiane Libor, Carsten Süss, Jochen Kupfer, and Stacey Bartsch. Kienzl was an active music director in Austria, The Netherlands, and Germany, and a noted author. His autobiographical volume, Aus Kunst und Leben (1904), is valuable for his recollections of Wagner, Wolf, Smetana, Johann Strauss, Brahms, Verdi, and Loewe, and his collection of music criticism, Im Konzert (1908), shows him to have been an independent-minded musician who was open to the new music being created by his contemporaries. But above all, Kienzl was a composer for the voice, and chiefly known for his operas, the extremely popular Der Evangelimann in particular. He also wrote piano and chamber music, including three string quartets, and well over 200 songs (Lieder), a genre to which he added right up until his last years. The selection of Lieder on this recording span the earlier part of Kienzl's career and shows him to have had impeccable literary taste. The settings include classic poems by the likes of Goethe, Eichendorff, Heine, and Lenau to contemporaries such as Robert Hamerling, and to folk-like texts by Elisabeth, the Queen of Romania, and others. The Heine poem that Kienzl entitles 'Traumesahnung' also appears in Schubert's Schwanengesang as 'Ich stand in dunkeln Träumen'. Kienzl's setting is very different from Schubert's, but emotionally very powerful: the rushing, turbulent semi-quavers of the piano part and the vocal part sharply evoke a sense of loss and desolation. In contrast, Kienzl's 'Lenz!', the first of a set of 4 Frühlingslieder to words by Sophie von Khuenberg, is a rippling stream of bubbling arpeggios that propels the joyous passions of this high-spirited spring song. 'Gesunden' is an altogether more ambitious song, built of several elements, including the triplet accompaniment, the left-hand piano motif at the beginning, and the singer's soaring melody. This is arguably one of Kienzl's finest songs.
Artikelnummer CHAN10666
Streckkod 0095115166628
Utgivningsdatum 2011-04-04
Kategori Vokalt / Klassiskt
Skivbolag Chandos
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Kompositörer Kienzl, Wilhelm
Disk: 1
Es tönt ein voller Harfenklang
1 Es tönt ein voller Harfenklang
2 Lenz!
3 Hochzeitslied
4 Die verschwiegene Nachtigal
5 Die blauen Husaren
6 Wehmut
7 Im Glücke*
8 Gesunden
9 Deingedenken
10 Traumesahnung
11 Triftiger
12 Grund
13 Sehnsucht nach Vergessen
14 Mephistopleles' Lied in Auerbachs Keller
16 Röslein und Schmetterling
17 Der Kuss
18 Romanze
19 Der Tambourinspieler
20 Die Urgrossmutter
21 Jung Werners Lied
22 An die Nacht
23 Augenblicke
24 Abendlied
25 Asphodelen
26 Letzte Reise
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Lieder, Vol. 1, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Britten / Shostakovich / Wolf - Michelangelo In Song - Tomlinson, John
169 kr
Elgar / Parry - Dream of Gerontius (The) - Hickox, Richard
169 kr
Connolly, Sarah (mezzo-soprano) - My True Love Hath My Heart
169 kr
Lutoslawski, Witold - Vocal Works - Gardner, Edward
Söderström, Elisabeth (soprano) - Intermezzo CHAN3174 2011-01-24 279 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Moeran, E J - Complete Solo Songs CHAN10596 2010-05-10 169 kr
Susan Gritton sings Britten, Finzi & Delius CHAN10590 2010-04-12 169 kr
Finley, Gerald (baritone) - Great Operatic Arias, Vol. 22 - Various CHAN3167 2010-02-08 169 kr
Brewer, Christine (soprano) - Christine Brewer, Vol. 2 CHAN3159 2009-03-02 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Schumann, Robert - Songs of Love and Loss - Connolly, Sarah (mezzo-soprano) CHAN10492 2008-10-06 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar