Rachmaninov, Sergey - Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom - Polyansky, Valery

Lägg till önskelista + 109 kr - Utgången

Part of the MUSICA SACRA series.

Also includes recordings of Rachmaninoff's shorter choral works O Mother of God vigilantly praying, Chorus of Spirits and Panteley the Healer.

When one speaks of Rachmaninoff's music, it is usually with reference to his lush, romantic and quintessentially Russian concertos and symphonies. Against the background of what has been described as an 'ambiguous' relationship with the Orthodox Church, however, it is worth noting that the composer also produced a significant number of choral works throughout the course of his career -- The Liturgy of St John Chrysostom is one such example.

Having immersed himself in the task of learning to read medieval Russian musical notation, Rachmaninoff wrote the liturgy (which, in the case of the Orthodox Church, refers specifically to the Mass) in less than three weeks during the summer of 1910. Despite its successful premiere, the work was subsequently banned by the Holy Synod for being too modern and overtly expressive, and today it is largely overshadowed by the better-known Vespers of 1915. Brilliant Classics' issue of the liturgy in 2CD format therefore presents a fantastic opportunity to acquire this striking but largely neglected masterpiece that is a fine testament to the late 19th and early 20th century nationalist attempts to revive traditional Russian chant. Richly scored in four-part harmony (a typical feature of sacred music from that time), it is impressively delivered here by the Russian State Symphony Capella under their esteemed director, Valery Polyansky.
Artikelnummer 9253
Streckkod 5029365925327
Utgivningsdatum 2012-02-08
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Brilliant Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 2
Artister Russian State Symphony Capella
Dirigenter Polyansky, Valery
Kompositörer Rachmaninov, Sergey
Disk: 1
1 Great Ektenia 03:44
2 First Antiphon 06:34
3 Second Antiphon 04:37
4 Third Antiphon 06:02
5 Entrance Hymn 01:52
6 Trisagion Hymn 03:19
7 Fervent Supplication 08:23
8 Cheruvimic Hymn 06:33
9 Ektenia of the Prothesis 03:47
10 Nicaean Creed 06:49
Disk: 2
1 Anaphora 05:19
2 Hymn of Praise 02:59
3 Hymn to the Virgin 07:28
4 The Lord's Prayer 04:41
5 The Elevation 01:21
6 Communion Hymn 03:01
7 Blessing 02:29
8 Hymn of Praise 08:51
9 Blessed be His Name 00:52
10 Glory to the Father 02:18
11 O Mother of God vigilantly praying - Sacred Concer 09:29
12 Chorus of Spirits for 4-part unaccompanied choir 01:25
13 Panteley the Healer for 4-part unaccompanied choir 04:11
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


89 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Piano Trios - Würtz, Klára
89 kr
Rachmaninov, Sergey - Vespers - National Academic Choir of Ukraine 'Dumka'
159 kr
Rachmaninov / Tchaikovsky / Gretchaninov - 5CD-BOX: Vespers - Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom - Bulgarian Mixed Choir
249 kr
Glazunov, Alexander - Complete 8 Symphonies - Polyansky, Valery
Taneyev, Sergey - Symphonies Nos. 1 & 3 - Polyansky, Valery CHAN10390 2007-04-10 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Rachmaninov, Sergey - Orchestral Works; The Three Symphonies (3CD Box) - Hughes, Owain Arwel (conductor) BIS1665 2007-01-31 269 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Rachmaninov, Sergey - The Miserly Knight (Opera) - Russian State Symphony Orchestra CHAN10264 2006-09-01 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Rachmaninov, Sergey - Symphony No. 2 - Polyansky, Valery CHAN9665 2006-09-01 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Rachmaninov, Sergey - SYMPHONY No.1 / ETUDES TABLEAUX (ORCH.RESPIGHI) - Polyansky, Valery CHAN9822 2006-09-01 169 kr
Rachmaninov, Sergey - THE ROCK / THE ISLE OF THE DEAD etc. - Polyansky, Valery CHAN10104 2006-09-01 169 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar