Dickinson, Peter - Lockdown Blues - Dickinson, Peter

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
SOMM Recordings announces the perfect escape from Lockdown Blues with a collection of appealing piano miniatures compiled and performed by Peter Dickinson to chase all your cares away. Lockdown Blues includes soothing masterpieces by Erik Satie (Trois Gnossiennes, Trois Gymnopédies), Francis Poulenc (Bal fantôme, Pastourelle) and Edward MacDowell (To a Wild Rose), alongside Eugene Goossens’ melancholic Lament for a Departed Doll and Samuel Barber’s valedictory Canzonetta. There is whimsy in George Gershwin’s Three-Quarter Blues (familiar to British audiences as the theme to radio and television’s After Henry) and Who Cares? from the musical Of Thee I Sing. Of interest are 12 iconic jazz tunes by Duke Ellington. Heard here in their original sheet-music versions, they are pure Ellington, the product of a sophisticated composer. Among featured classic songs are Solitude, Don’t Get Around Much Anymore, Mood Indigo and It Don’t Mean a Thing (If it Ain’t Got That Swing). In his introduction, renowned broadcaster and writer Humphrey Burton describes Lockdown Blues as ‘a delightful hour of discovery’, hailing the Ellington selections as ‘a real find that will surely be much anthologized long after Lockdown has been forgotten’. The disc is completed by three pieces by Dickinson – the titular Lockdown Blues, Freda’s Blues and Blue Rose, a take on MacDowell’s To a Wild Rose – together with Constant Lambert’s Elegiac Blues, Lennox Berkeley’s Prelude VI and John Cage’s Satie-influenced In a Landscape. Peter Dickinson’s career as a pianist has largely been in recitals, broadcasts and recordings with his sister, mezzo Meriel Dickinson, and he has worked with many other performers. Dickinson’s Paraphrase II is included on Nathan Williamson’s 20th-century British piano music collection, Colour and Light (SOMMCD 0196) and was praised by the British Music Society as ‘a Theme with six hugely contrasting variations exploring the outer edges of tonality in a brilliant, structurally refined way’.
Artikelnummer SOMMCD0644
Streckkod 0748871064423
Utgivningsdatum 2021-11-19
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag SOMM Recordings
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Dickinson, Peter
Kompositörer Dickinson, Peter
Disk: 1
1 Freda's Blues
2 To a Wild Rose (Woodland Sketches, Op.51 No.1)
3 Blue Rose
4 Elegiac Blues
5 Lockdown Blues
6 Nocturne in C minor, 'Bal fantôme' (Huit Nocturnes
7 Canzonetta (arr. Peter Dickinson)
8 Andante (Six Preludes, Op.23 No.6)
9 Three-quarter Blues (Irish Waltz)
10 Pastourelle (L'Éventail de Jeanne)
Trois Gnossiennes
11 I. Lent
12 Ii. Avec étonnement
13 Iii. Lent
14 Who Cares?
15 Lament for a Departed Doll (Kaleidoscope, Op.18)
Trois Gnossiennes
16 I. Lent et douloureux
17 Ii. Lent et triste
18 Iii. Lent et grave
19 It don't mean a thing (if it ain't got that swing)
20 Solitude - arr. Peter Dickinson
21 Don't get around much - arr. Peter Dickinson
22 Lost in meditation - arr. Peter Dickinson
23 I never felt this way before - arr. Peter Dickinso
24 Sophisticated Lady - arr. Peter Dickinson
25 In a sentimental mood - arr. Peter Dickinson
26 Azure - arr. Peter Dickinson
27 Do nothin' till you hear from me - arr. Peter Dick
28 Mood Iindigo - arr. Peter Dickinson
29 Day Dream - arr. Peter Dickinson
30 Prelude to a Kiss - arr. Peter Dickinson
31 In a Landscape
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Lockdown Blues, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Various - Mosaic - A4 Brass Quartet
159 kr
Various - Nightlight - Williams, Cordelia
159 kr
Various - One Hundred Years of British Song, Vol. 2 - Gilchrist, James
159 kr
Various - Favourite Orchestral Classics - Philharmonic Concert Orchestra
Various - Duos by Miguez & Oswald - Treasures from the New World, Vol. 2 - Flint, Anthony SOMMCD0632 2021-04-30 159 kr
Various - Dreams Melting - Geer, James SOMMCD0630 2021-03-19 159 kr
Various - Nordic Solo Flute Music - Bahr, Gunilla von (flute) BIS150 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Various - Contemporary Danish Music for Orchestra, Volume 1 - Danish National Symphony Orchestra BIS079 2005-04-16 169 kr
Various - Music for French Horn BIS047 2005-04-16 169 kr
Various - French Organ Music - Fagius, Hans BIS007 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar