Martin, Philip (piano) - Maidens's Prayer (The)

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Philip Martin, piano

None of us can deny that they have fallen prey to the lure of a junk shop or of the chaotic mysteries of an attic, and sometimes purchasers of an old wardrobe or chest of drawers find there a bundle of treasure left behind ... well, the spirit of 'What have we here?' permeates the adventures captured on this album.

Salon music had its heyday on record in the era of 78s, since the length of a side suited it so well, and for that reason some titles- such as Rubinstein's Melody in F and Paderewski's Minuet in G-may be familiar, but there are 'finds' to be had in any such compilation. This is music on which most aspiring pianists have cut their teeth, giving them as it does both the satisfaction of mastering a complete piece without straining their technique (well, mostly) as well as the backbone of a repertoire that makes for a welcome family evening around the piano; alas for us all that we cannot offer renderings of such sympathetic finesse and lyrical elegance as are here set down by Philip Martin 'at home' and off-duty from his award-winning complete Gottschalk recordings on Hyperion.

'You may wonder when you last heard such beguiling, fine-toned fluency ... this is a delectable disc finely recorded' (Gramophone)

'This repertoire is as delightful to listen to as it is to play ... perfect evening listening' (Classic FM Magazine)

1 Rustle of Spring (No 3 of Six Pieces, Op 32) CHRISTIAN SINDING (1856-1941) [2'46]
2 The Maiden's Prayer TEKLA BADARZEWSKA (1834-1861) [4'14]
3 Humoresque in G flat (No 7 of Eight Humoresques, Op 101 B187) ANTONÍN DVORVÁK (1841-1904) [2'56]
4 Kevätyö 'May Night' (No 4 of Spring, Op 57) SELIM PALMGREN (1878-1951) [2'44]
5 Serenata (No 1 of Six Pieces, Op 15) MORITZ MOSZKOWSKI (1854-1925) [1'56]
6 Melody in F (No 1 of Two Melodies, Op 3) ANTON RUBINSTEIN (1829-1894) [3'23]
7 Minuet in G (No 1 of Humoresques de concert, Op 14) IGNACY JAN PADEREWSKI (1860-1941) [4'00]
8 Toccata in A (from Sonata No 6) DOMENICO PARADIES (1707-1791) [2'39]
9 The harmonious blacksmith (Air, with variations from Suite No 5 in E, HWV430) GEORGE FRIDERIC HANDEL (1685-1759) [4'45]
10 Minuet in G (No 2 of Six Minuets, WoO10) LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN (1770-1827) [2'11]
11 Spring Song (No 6 of Lieder ohne Worte V, Op 62) FELIX MENDELSSOHN (1809-1847) [2'30]
12 Chanson triste (No 2 of 12 Morceaux, Op 40) PYOTR TCHAIKOVSKY (1840-1893) [2'38]
13 Kuusi 'The spruce tree' (No 5 of Five Pieces, Op 75) JEAN SIBELIUS (1865-1957) [2'40]
14 Silver Spring Op 6 WILLIAM MASON (1829-1908) [4'52]
15 Tarantella in A minor (No 1 of 10 Danses de salon) ALBERT PIECZONKA (1828-1912) [2'31]
16 Nocturne (No 4 of Lyrische Stücke V, Op 54) EDVARD GRIEG (1843-1907) [3'49]
17 La coquette - valse brillante VICTOR HERBERT (1859-1924) [3'02]
18 Poème (No 14 of Moods, impressions and reminiscences, Op 41) ZDENEVK FIBICH (1850-1900) [1'21]
19 Poupée valsante (No 2 of 7 Marionnettes) EDE POLDINI (1869-1957) [3'15]
20 To a wild rose (No 1 of Woodland Sketches, Op 51) EDWARD MACDOWELL (1860-1908) [1'53]
21 La fileuse (No 2 of Two Pieces for piano, Op 157) JOSEPH JOACHIM RAFF (1822-1882) [4'02]
22 Narcissus (No 4 of Water Scenes, Op 13) ETHELBERT NEVIN (1862-1901) [1'57]
23 Romanze Op 45 No 1 ALFRED GRÜNFELD (1852-1924) [5'09]
24 Première valse Op 83 AUGUST DURAND (1830-1909) [4'00]

Artikelnummer CDH55410
Streckkod 0034571154107
Utgivningsdatum 2012-02-22
Kategori Piano
Skivbolag Hyperion / Helios
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Martin, Philip (piano)
Disk: 1
1 The Maidens's Prayer
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Maidens's Prayer (The), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


79 kr
Scriabin/Tchaikovsky - Piano Concertos - Demidenko, Nikolai (piano)
79 kr
Scriabin, Alexander - Early Scriabin, The - Coombs, Stephen (piano)
89 kr
Rachmaninov, Sergey - Demidenko plays Rachmaninov
79 kr
Lane, Piers (piano) - Virtuoso Strauss Transcriptions
Glazunov, Alexander - Piano Music Vol. 4 - Coombs, Stephen (piano) CDH55224 2006-08-21 79 kr
Godowsky, Leopold - Piano Music - Waal, Rian de CDH55206 2006-05-08 89 kr
Rachmaninov, Sergey - Music for Two Pianos - Shelley/Macnamara CDH55209 2005-09-12 79 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Rév, Livia (piano) - For Children CDH55194 2005-03-21 89 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Satie, Erik - Piano Music - Seow, Yitkin (piano) CDH55175 2004-11-08 89 kr
Gottschalk, L M - Piano Music, Vol 7 - Martin, Philip (piano) CDA67478 2004-09-20 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar