Kriegel, Volker - Mainz Studio Recordings 1963-1969 (2CD)

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
When the Darmstadt teenager Volker Kriegel (1943-2003) officially debuted his first chords in the late 1950s, the guitar was still an outsider instrument in jazz. It could boast a few luminaries, but actually everything was still open when, in 1963 and 1964, the autodidact from Hessen won first prizes as guitarist and soloist at the amateur jazz festival in Düsseldorf. The debut recordings in 1963, which Südwestfunk (SWF) recorded with the nineteen-year-old guitarist in trio at the Deutschhaus in Mainz, and the 1969 studio sessions in the Kammersaal Studio, are worlds apart. For one thing, the guitar itself had carved out a career. On top of this, Kriegel had gained in self-confidence. But above all, he had found a counterpart in Claudio Szenkar, who opened up perspectives not only in terms of communication and composition but also through Kriegel’s own instrument. The combination of vibraphone and guitar was then still fairly new. In 1968, Kriegel decided to make music his main profession. Thanks to "With A Little Help from My Friends" and an appearance at the German Jazz Festival in Frankfurt, he achieved the breakthrough into public recognition. Together with the vibraphonist Dave Pike, the bassist Hans Rettenbacher and the drummer Peter Baumeister, he founded the Dave Pike Set, which became for four years his artistic center and a beacon combo of European jazz rock. And for the SWF (Südwestfunk, today SWR) he went twice into the sound studio. With the exceptions of The Beatles’s anthem "Norwegian Wood" and "Mother People" by the young guitar berserker Frank Zappa, hardly any pieces by other musicians are still to be heard in these recordings.
Artikelnummer JAH426
Streckkod 0730099042659
Utgivningsdatum 2021-05-14
Kategori Jazz
Skivbolag Jazzhaus
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 2
Artister Kriegel, Volker
Disk: 1
1 Django
2 Tabu
3 Israel
4 Saint Louis Blues
5 Rhythm-a-ning
6 Les enfants s'ennuient le dimanche
7 Autumn Leaves
8 Three Seconds
9 Tea and Rum
10 Morandi
11 Don't Wait
12 Na Na Imboro
13 Nyleve
14 Connie's Blues
Disk: 2
1 Viande
2 Traffic Jam
3 Little Pear
4 Norwegian Wood
5 Five by Four
6 Royal Harp
7 Cry It Out
8 Soul Eggs
9 Noisy Silence, Gentle Noise
10 Somewhat, Somewhere, Somehow
11 Sitting On My Knees
12 Slums on Wheels
13 I'm On My Way
14 Pluns
15 Mother People
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Mainz Studio Recordings 1963-1969 (2CD), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


89 kr
Hans Koller & Friends - Live In Germany 1960
149 kr
Kriegel, Volker - Studio Recordings 1963-1969
89 kr
Modern Jazz Quartet (The) - Lost Tapes: Germany 1956-1958
89 kr
Orchester Kurt Edelhagen - Live in 1954
Pettiford, Oscar - Lost Tapes: Germany 1958/59 101719 2013-04-10 89 kr
Gillespie, Dizzy (trumpet) - Live at Stuttgart 1961 101711 2012-09-26 89 kr
Mulligan, Gerry (saxophone) - Stuttgart, 1977 101700 2012-02-06 89 kr
Blakey, Art (drums) - Untertürkheim, 1978 101701 2012-02-06 89 kr
Adderley, Julian "Cannonball" - Stuttgart, 1969 101702 2012-02-06 89 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Goodman, Benny (clarinet) - Freiburg, 1959 101704 2012-02-06 89 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar