Wolpe, Stefan - Man from Midian, The / Violin Sonata - Group for Contemporary Music, The

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
In his early career as a composer, Berlin-born Stefan Wolpe espoused social causes and wrote songs on revolutionary themes. With the rise of Nazism he moved to Palestine, where he taught musical theory at the Jerusalem Conservatory. His music of this period was the result ofan encounter between European cultural and historical ideas and Middle Eastern melodies and structures, as can be heard in his score for the ballet The Man from Midian. Wolpe described his Sonata for Violin and Piano, written after he had taken American citizenship, as ‘one of the first pieces which show my personal liberation’.

Jorja Fleezanis, violin
Cameron Grant, piano
Garrick Ohlsson, piano
James Winn, piano
Stefan Wolpe
The Man from Midian
1. Part I: Overture
2. Part I: Serfdom Lamentation
3. Part I: Mother Conceives Child
4. Part I: Pharaoh's Daughter Bathes in the Nile, finds the Baby
5. Part I: Procession
6. Part I: Pet of the Court - Political Intrigue
7. Part I: Moses Among the Workers
8. Part I: Moses Buries the Taskmaster in the Sand
9. Part II: Conversation with God
10. Part II: Moses meets Aaron - Command of Moses for the Waters
11. Part II: March Through the Red Sea
12. Part II: Restlessness
13. Part II: Aaron's Desperation
14. Part II: Joshua's Pleading
15. Part II: Bacchanal
16. Part II: Return of Moses - Breaking of Tablets - Moses Falls on the Arms of Joshua
17. Part II: Moses Walks Among the People - Commands Some to be Killed
18. Part II: Gathering of People

Violin Sonata
19. I. Un poco allegro
20. II. Andante appassionato
21. III. Lento - Scherzo
22. IV. Allegretto deciso
Artikelnummer 8559265
Streckkod 0636943926529
Utgivningsdatum 2007-07-23
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Naxos
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Group for Contemporary Music, The
Kompositörer Wolpe, Stefan
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Man from Midian, The / Violin Sonata, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


119 kr
Wuorinen, Charles - String Sextet / String Quartet No. 2 / Piano Quintet - Group for Contemporary Music, The
119 kr
Wolpe, Stefan - String Quartet / Trio in Two Parts - Group for Contemporary Music, The
239 kr
Wagner, Richard - Siegfried (4 CD) - Zagrosek, Lothar (conductor)
119 kr
Liszt, Franz - Symphonic Poems Vol 4: Hungaria / Héroïde funèbre / Le Troimphe funèbre de Tasse - Halász, Michael (conductor)
Tabakov, Emil - Piano Concerto / Concerto for Two Flutes - Gallois, Patrick (flute) 8570073 2007-01-22 119 kr
Tchaikovsky, Boris - Symphony No. 1 / The Murming Forest / After the Ball 8570195 2007-01-22 119 kr
Sessions, Roger - String Quartet / String Quintet / Canons - Group for Contemporary Music, The 8559261 2006-06-01 119 kr
Ej i lager
Babbitt, Milton - Soli e Duettini - Group for Contemporary Music, The 8559259 2006-04-01 119 kr
Wuorinen, Charles - Six Trios - Group for Contemporary Music, The 8559264 2006-03-01 119 kr
Druckman, Jacob - String Quartets Nos. 2 & 3 - Group for Contemporary Music, The 8559260 2005-05-01 24 kr (79 kr)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar