Puccini, Giacomo - Manon Lescaut (DVD) - Chorus and Orchestra of the Royal Opera

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Puccini began to compose Manon Lescaut in 1889. It was an act of supreme bravado as only five years previously Massenet had premiered Manon, based on the same novel by Abbé Prévost. The story is set in France and Louisiana in the early 18th century and focuses on – in a way different to Massenet – the fortunes and tragedy of the hero, the Chevalier des Grieux, and his lover, Manon. Its ceaseless melodic beauty and drama were recognized immediately and the first night was an overwhelming triumph, with Puccini effectively anointed as Verdi’s successor and Italy’s greatest operatic composer. Ninety years after its 1893 premiere in Turin, the work was staged by the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. The 1983 production was conducted by Giuseppe Sinopoli, making his British operatic debut to such remarkable effect that The Times referred to him as ‘Europe’s most spectacular new opera star’. The cast included three of the greatest exponents of their roles; Plácido Domingo as the romantic hero whose performance ‘was a cause for drop-jawed wonder’ (The Spectator), the radiant Kiri Te Kanawa as Manon and Thomas Allen as her brother, Lescaut. Director Götz Friedrich’s largely traditional staging proved a major theatrical success.
Artikelnummer OA1342D
Streckkod 0809478013426
Utgivningsdatum 2022-03-25
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Opus Arte
Enhet DVD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Chorus and Orchestra of the Royal Opera
Domingo, Plácido
Dirigenter Sinopoli, Giuseppi
Kompositörer Puccini, Giacomo
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Manon Lescaut (DVD), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


259 kr
Puccini, Giacomo - La Bohème (DVD) - Orchestra & Chorus of the Royal Opera House
299 kr
Puccini, Giacomo - Madama Butterfly (DVD) - Meir Wellber, Omer
299 kr
Puccini, Giacomo - Madama Butterfly (DVD) - Pappano, Antonio
189 kr
Verdi, Giuseppe - Un ballo in maschera (DVD) - Domingo, Plácido
Gala Performances (2 DVD) - Domingo, Plácido OA1229 2017-02-17 389 kr
Puccini, Giacomo - 3 BLURAY-BOX: La Bohème, Tosca & Turandot (BD) - Various OABD7176BD 2015-09-05 469 kr
Puccini, Giacomo - 3DVD-BOX: La Bohème, Tosca & Turandot - Nelsons, Andris / Pappano, Antonio / Nanasi, Henri OA1184BD 2015-09-05 399 kr
Berlioz, Hector - Symphony Fantastique - Celibidache, Sergiu (conductor) OA0977 2007-05-14 239 kr
Bruckner, Anton - Symphony No. 9 - Celibidache, Sergiu (conductor) OA0976 2007-04-10 239 kr
Last Night of the Proms OA0851 2005-04-16 239 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar