Bach, J S - Mass in B Minor - Breitkopf & Härtel Editition, edited by J Rifkin (2006) - Butt, John

Lägg till önskelista + 299 kr - Utgången


Best Recording 2010, High Fidelity

"This performance demands to be heard." (Gramophone, 2010)

"This is the first recording of Joshua Rifkin's 2006 edition of the B minor mass, a revision of his first 1980 edition, using single voices in the Kyrie, Gloria and Creed and ripienists in the six-part Sanctus, the double choir Osanna and the Dona nobis pacem. This constantly changing texture makes us listen afresh to the beauty of Bach's astonishing vocal writing. It's a joy to hear the principal singers - Susan Hamilton, Cecilia Osmond, Margot Oitzinger, Thomas Hobbs and Matthew Brook - working together as a chorus, moving like a precision machine, each line clear and uncluttered under John Butt's meticulous direction. A definitive recording." (The Observer, Stephen Pritchard, 2010)

"John Butt and his Dunedin Consort & Players are back with another large-scale Bach masterpiece, performed in accordance with Joshua Rifkin's fascinating, exhaustively-researched arguments for employing one-voice-to-a-part in the choral works. This also is the premiere recording using Rifkin's recently published scholarly edition of the B minor Mass, which purports to have cleared away "improvements" inflicted on the score after Bach's death, and presents the work as faithfully as possible in Bach's final conception...

...speaking of performances: those on this recording are actually very fine, particularly in regard to the quality, technical ability, and command of Bach style demonstrated by each of the individual voices. When they sing in ensemble, of course you notice the singular attributes of each voice--which to me is a distraction better left where you expect it, in the Romantic-era drawing room of Brahms' Liebeslieder. There's no lack of energy, no compromise in phrasing or dynamic intensity (thanks largely to engineering that places the singers rather close), and you really can't complain about the vibrant, natural sound. For a while you can really lose yourself in this performance--and many of the arias are as fine as you'll hear anywhere; Margot Oitzinger's Agnus Dei is to die for..." 4,5/5 stars (, David Vernier, 2010)

Dunedin Consort & Players
John Butt - Director

Susan Hamilton - soprano 1
Cecilia Osmond - soprano 2
Margot Oitzinger - alto
Thomas Hobbs - tenor
Matthew Brook - bass

Produced by Philip Hobbs
Artikelnummer CKD354
Streckkod 0691062035422
Utgivningsdatum 2010-05-03
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Linn Records
Enhet SACD
Antal enheter 2
Artister Dunedin Consort
Dirigenter Butt, John
Kompositörer Bach, J S
Disk: 1
1 Kyrie eleison
2 Christe eleison
3 Kyrie eleison
4 Gloria in excelsis Deo
5 Et in terra pax
6 Laudamus te
7 Gratias
8 Domine deus
9 Qui tollis
10 Qui sedes
11 Quoniam tu solus Sanctus
12 Cum Sancto Spiritu
Disk: 2
1 Credo in unum Deum
2 Patrem omnipotentem
3 Et in unum Dominum
4 Et incarnatus est
5 Crucifixus
6 Et resurrexit
7 Et in Spiritum sanctum
8 Confiteor
9 Et expecto
10 Sanctus
11 Osanna
12 Benedictus
13 Osanna - da capo
14 Agnus Dei
15 Dona nobis pacem
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Mass in B Minor - Breitkopf & Härtel Editition, edited by J Rifkin (2006), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


299 kr
Bach, J S - Orchestral Suites BWV 1066-1069 (2CD) - Dunedin Consort
189 kr
Bach, J S - Ich habe genug: Cantatas BWV 32, 82 & 106 - Dunedin Consort
299 kr
Bach, J S - Mass in B minor - Butt, John
150 kr (299 kr)
Bach, J S - John Passion - Butt, John
Bach, J S - Six Brandenburg Concertos CKR430 2018-02-23 299 kr
Bach, J S - Christmas Oratorio - Dunedin Consort CKD499 2016-10-14 150 kr (299 kr)
Mozart, W A - Requiem (Reconstruction of first performance) - Dunedin Consort CKD449 2014-04-09 159 kr
Bach, J S - Six Brandenburg Concertos - Dunedin Consort CKD430 2013-10-09 299 kr
Bach, J S - 3CD-BOX: St Matthew Passion - Butt, John CKD313 2008-03-03 379 kr
Handel, G F - Messiah (Dublin version, 1742) - Butt, John CKD285 2006-01-03 150 kr (299 kr)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar