Various - Mosaic - A4 Brass Quartet

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
SOMM Recordings is thrilled to announce the release of Mosaic featuring the label debut of the A4 Brass Quartet. Formed in 2013 at Manchester’s Royal Northern College of Music, the quartet comprises principal players from some of the UK’s top brass bands, including Black Dyke, Foden’s and Brighouse & Rastrick. Its unique blend of instruments – cornet (Jamie Smith), tenor horn (Jonathan Bates), baritone horn (Mike Cavanagh) and euphonium (Chris Robertson) – creates a unique sound that stands out from the standard brass quartet. An exciting kaleidoscope of new music and bespoke arrangements for the ensemble’s distinctive line-up, Mosaic makes a bold claim for the vibrancy and variety of contemporary brass music. Its aim, the quartet says, “is to take the listener on a journey in which they are never quite certain what lies around the corner”. First recordings include Bramwell Tovey’s Street Songs, inspired by photographs of 19th-century Salvation Army bands, three movements from Christian Overhead’s vibrant portraiture in music, 5 Miniatures (both composed for A4 Brass), an arrangement by Jonathan Bates of José Serebrier’s vivacious Cuarteto, Bates’s own virtuosic Toccata 2, and Daniel Hall’s visceral take on a notorious Hollywood murder dubbed The Black Dahlia, which won the A4 Brass Quartet’s inaugural composition competition in 2018.Lighter fare is provided by Elgar’s perennially popular Salut d’Amour, the ebullient Overture to Leonard Bernstein’s Candide, and three more arrangements by Bates: Percy Grainger’s dancing Molly on the Shore, the lovelorn jazz standard, Autumn Leaves, and Kentaro Sato’s tribute to victims of the 2011 earthquake and tsunami in Japan, Tsuna’ngari (‘connection’).Euphonium player Chris Robertson provides striking arrangements of Bruckner’s beloved motet Locus iste, and Bartók’s Six Romanian Folk Dances that exploit the quartet’s distinctively individual signature.
Artikelnummer SOMMCD0638
Streckkod 0748871063822
Utgivningsdatum 2021-09-03
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag SOMM Recordings
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister A4 Brass Quartet
Kompositörer Various
Disk: 1
Street Songs
1 Meditacion
2 Danza
3 Cancion
4 Ronda
5 Overture to Candide (arr. D. Thomas)
6 Toccata 2
7 Locus iste (arr. C. Robertson)
Street Songs
8 I - Jocul cu bâtâ (Stick Dance)
9 Ii - Brâul (Sash Dance)
10 Iii - Pe loc (Stamping Dance)
11 Iv - Buciumeana (Horn Dance)
12 V - Poarga Românescâ (Romanian Polka) - Vi Mârunte
13 Autumn Leaves (arr. J. Bates)
Street Songs
14 Lr - a chirpy lark
15 Im - A rhythmic Interlude
16 Ej - A boisterous fugue
17 Molly on the shore (arr. J. Bates)
18 The Black Dahlia
19 Tsuna'ngari (arr. J. Bates)
Street Songs
20 I - In strict laid back time…
21 Ii - Brazen
22 Iii - Adagio, 'The Silent Voices…'
23 Iv - Very Fast Indeed
24 Salut d'Amour (arr. J. Bates)
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Mosaic, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Dickinson, Peter - Lockdown Blues - Dickinson, Peter
159 kr
Various - Nightlight - Williams, Cordelia
159 kr
Various - One Hundred Years of British Song, Vol. 2 - Gilchrist, James
159 kr
Various - Favourite Orchestral Classics - Philharmonic Concert Orchestra
Various - Duos by Miguez & Oswald - Treasures from the New World, Vol. 2 - Flint, Anthony SOMMCD0632 2021-04-30 159 kr
Various - Dreams Melting - Geer, James SOMMCD0630 2021-03-19 159 kr
Various - Nordic Solo Flute Music - Bahr, Gunilla von (flute) BIS150 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Various - Contemporary Danish Music for Orchestra, Volume 1 - Danish National Symphony Orchestra BIS079 2005-04-16 169 kr
Various - Music for French Horn BIS047 2005-04-16 169 kr
Various - French Organ Music - Fagius, Hans BIS007 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +

Andra har köpt

Andra kunder har även köpt:
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar