Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario - Music for Violin & Piano - Luciani, Fulvio

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Forced into exile from his native Italy by the onset of Fascism, Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco sailed to the US in 1939. He arrived at dawn one muggy summer morning, and immortalized the moment, a turning point in his life and his music, in the finale of his Third Violin Concerto. The piece was commissioned from him by Jascha Heifetz, both to give himself an impressive new commission from a young and talented but not too radically inclined composer and as a way of helping a fellow émigré find his feet in a new and strange land. Castelnuovo-Tedesco certainly wrote with Heifetz’s technique in mind as well as his predilection for big cantabile melodies. Despite its concerto title, the piece was conceived for violin and piano like a sonata. The moods of the work, cast in traditional three-movement form, mirror the composer’s own, shifting from initial confusion to nostalgia to ebullience. However, Heifetz did not care for the piece, especially the finale, and it lay unplayed until this pair of Italian musicians gave its first performance of modern times in 2016. Writing in the booklet, Fulvio Luciani considers it ‘one of Castelnuovo-Tedesco’s major works’; this is its second recording, but Luciani and Motterle enjoy a familiarity with the music unrivalled by any other living interpreters. As well as several attractive miniatures dating from the composer’s pre-war years in Italy, Luciano and Motterle also present the first recordings of his postwar arrangements of piano music by Chopin and Brahms. They are acts of love on the part of a pianist that engage with the violin, and the outcome is remarkably fresh and persuasive.
Artikelnummer 95927
Streckkod 5028421959276
Utgivningsdatum 2020-09-18
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Brilliant Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Luciani, Fulvio
Motterle, Massimiliano
Kompositörer Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario
Disk: 1
3 Intermezzos, Op. 117 (arr. for violin and piano)
1 No. 1 in E-Flat Major
2 No. 2 in B-Flat Minor
3 No. 3 in C-Sharp Minor
4 Vol. 6, No. 2. Arise, "Sea Murmurs"
5 Vol. 8, No. 3. Two Maids Wooing a Man, "Tango"
6 Notturno adriatico, Op. 34
7 I. Drammatico
8 II. Lento - Grave e triste
9 III. Molto moderato (quasi un'Introduzione)
10 No. 1 in C Major
11 No. 10 in C-Sharp Minor
12 No. 11 in B Major
13 No. 12 in G-Sharp Minor
14 No. 13 in F-Sharp Major
15 No. 17 in A-Flat Major
16 No. 18 in F Minor
17 No. 2 in A Minor
18 No. 24 in D Minor
19 No. 3 in G Major
20 No. 4 in E Minor
21 No. 7 in A Major
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Music for Violin & Piano, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


89 kr
Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario - Chamber Music - Ensemble Italiano
89 kr
Campogrande, Nicola - Music for Guitar & Choir - St Martin's Chamber Choir
119 kr
Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario - Arioso - Music for Cello & Piano - Cicchese, Amedeo
89 kr
Songs of Love and Exile - Elias, Itzhar - Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario
Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario - The Divan of Moses Ibn Ezra - Complete Music for Voice and Guitar - Klisowska, Joanna 95282 2017-09-22 89 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Mozart, W A - Così fan tutte - Genz, Christoph (tenor) 93925 2011-01-03 129 kr
Mozart, W A - Le Nozze di Figaro - Kuijken, Sigiswald 93966 2011-01-03 129 kr
Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario - Shakespeare Overtures Vol 2 - West Australian Symphony Orchestra 8572501 2010-10-25 89 kr
Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario - Shakespeare Overtures Vol 1 - West Australian Symphony Orchestra 8572500 2010-09-20 89 kr
Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario - Naomi and Ruth - Academy of St Martin in the Fields 8559404 2005-01-01 79 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar